Notices

Posts: 83 | Thanked: 34 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Poole, UK
Hi,

I am completely new to themes, never done it on any device before. So, what I am about to ask may seem to be really stupid!!!!

Where do I start?????

I have read through many post on here, and they all seem to be about Theme Maker, to which i downloaded. The app itself seems to be pretty straight forward, the bit I don't understand is what to do with the psd/png files.

I am familiar with Photoshop, and looking in the nuvo-fremantle-template.psd, I can see what looks to be a layout with a number of layers, do I just literally put my desired choice over the top of a section in this file, what happens when I don't change an area.....it is really these image files that I don't understand.

What happens if I add new icons in the icon file, will they ever show up, how do you reference them.

So I guess what I am after, is an example of how one of these template files are changed.

I'm sorry that this is really a very noob question

Last edited by andrewfblack; 2010-04-23 at 12:53.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to davidh101 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 180 | Thanked: 82 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Miami
im guessing you just put ur png files where the original was, with the same file name (overwrite it). then just test it out, the ones that you dont change will be kept at the original files.

I havent created any themes but ive taken parts from 5 or 6 different themes to make it a perfect theme for me. I dont use theme maker, I just manually edit the files

The Following User Says Thank You to waleed786 For This Useful Post:
that's an interesting thought, doing it manually.

Where are the theme files stored?

The Following User Says Thank You to davidh101 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 180 | Thanked: 82 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Miami
usr/share/themes