Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 5,029 | Thanked: 8,587 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#281
Read first few posts/pages?
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 3,188 | Thanked: 5,756 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#282
Originally Posted by jurop88 View Post
For me, compcache works and I feel the speed/occasional lags tradeoff OK
Could be you are not having lots of background processes, daemons and so on running? I am always having > 200 MB swap in use. Maybe for a lesser amount compcache is working?


Originally Posted by jurop88 View Post
Currently I've swapset installed, so I think it sets swaps after start of Hildon-desktop
Then it is normal, that a few MBs are used within eMMC swap, as swapset enables compcache at a later time.
Could be done a bit earlier.



Originally Posted by jurop88 View Post
I mean:
If data used 'often' are swapped in compcache, we could try to swap out 'old' data from compcache to 'real' swap in order to keep most used data in ram. I did not found any mechanism like that - and at a second glance it looks like it won't make sense in a desktop system where we don't have so many constraints and compressed file systems. I am currently using two smaller eMMC swaps instead of a big one, and it feels more laggy but with shorter lags. It is really hard to tell if there are differences without a test suite and with so many use cases.
Now I understand.
No, as freemangordon stated in some earlier post. There is no control when/where/which swap is used, if compcache is enabled.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 247 | Thanked: 277 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Brighton, UK
#283
Just wanted to chime in that I've finally gotten around to making swapset it's own thread.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to mr_jrt For This Useful Post:
KotCzarny's Avatar
Posts: 266 | Thanked: 677 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ .pl
#284
quick instruction how to make it run on every boot:

new file: /etc/event.d/rc-local
Code:
start on MOUNTS_OK

console output
exec /etc/rc.local
new file: /etc/rc.local
Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo "[/etc/rc.local]"

/sbin/swapoff -a
/sbin/modprobe ramzswap num_devices=4 disksize_kb=32768
/sbin/mkswap /dev/ramzswap0
/sbin/swapon /dev/ramzswap0
/sbin/swapon -a
as a bonus you can put even more things to run in /etc/rc.local. cheers!
__________________
oscp - media player with network remote and almost no dependencies (pc/lin/win/maemo(n8x0/n900), x86/x64/armel/armhf) - http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94590 - if you like it, tell others.
contact with me: #osc or #maemo on freenode/ircnet or /query KotCzarny
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to KotCzarny For This Useful Post:
Posts: 261 | Thanked: 303 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#285
Do you think CompCache is giving any benefit on N900? I tried it in the past but found it would cause big problems when the ram swap was full.
 
KotCzarny's Avatar
Posts: 266 | Thanked: 677 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ .pl
#286
make it small enough (16-32M imo) and it might be of some use, but nothing will help if you run too many apps/widgets at the same time.
__________________
oscp - media player with network remote and almost no dependencies (pc/lin/win/maemo(n8x0/n900), x86/x64/armel/armhf) - http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94590 - if you like it, tell others.
contact with me: #osc or #maemo on freenode/ircnet or /query KotCzarny
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KotCzarny For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,132 | Thanked: 1,794 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ The Netherlands
#287
Are people still using this?
Never bothered trying, does it really gain performance over just swap on SD?
__________________
N900 loaded with:
CSSU-T (Thumb)
720p recording,
Pierogi, Lanterne, Cooktimer, Frogatto
N9 16GB loaded with:
Kernel-Plus
--
[TCPdump & libpcap | ngrep]
--
donate
 
Posts: 109 | Thanked: 380 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Near Munich
#288
I would be quite sure it does.

Writing to the SD Card is quite slow,
slow enough that even the slow processor of the N900 should apply the simple compression at a much faster rate.

Also random seek times are by magnitudes better for ram.
Obviously this will give you far less additional memory than swap on a SD can.

(Maybe I will test it myself within the next week)

Oh no need! There is an extensive study by Nokia themselves!
https://www.tizen.org/sites/default/...he-meego_0.pdf
Man I miss the old Nokia
So it has huge benefits, even over Swap on the device eMMC, which is faster than a SD.

Last edited by Macros; 2017-08-10 at 21:02.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Macros For This Useful Post:
Posts: 261 | Thanked: 303 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#289
Originally Posted by Macros View Post
(Maybe I will test it myself within the next week)
So did you test it? In the past I found it didn't make much of a difference that I could detect but would cause the phone to freeze for long periods, similar to when a computer runs out of memory and starts 'thrashing'. Perhaps tweaking the configuration would have helped - this was 5 years or so ago.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Xagoln For This Useful Post:
Posts: 62 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on May 2014
#290
If i remember correctly i measured it makes booting 15 seconds faster. Assuming you enable it early.

The problem is that for compression you want a small vm/page_cluster size like 4kb. (echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster)

But as fallback it hits emmc with 4kb read and writes, which may result in very poor swapping performance. (Im not even sure if you can change the 4kb swap fallback size by altering vm/page-cluster or it is hardcoded)
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pythoneye2 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29.