Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 27 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Jan 2012
#1361
Hi,

My N9 (059K1T4) has a Chinese firmware and CMT on it. I intend to flash a higher European firmware (009 variant?) then reflash the original 003 CMT. The firmware images on mrcrab.net are listed by product code, not variant. Can anyone point me toward a suitable product code or firmware? (Ideally UK)
 
Posts: 128 | Thanked: 105 times | Joined on Dec 2014 @ Hungary
#1362
Originally Posted by kazzie View Post
Hi,

My N9 (059K1T4) has a Chinese firmware and CMT on it. I intend to flash a higher European firmware (009 variant?) then reflash the original 003 CMT. The firmware images on mrcrab.net are listed by product code, not variant. Can anyone point me toward a suitable product code or firmware? (Ideally UK)
i had the same problem before. you can upgrade to 009 of course.
for main firmware (MCU, region 009) you can use these variants for example:
RM-696 NDT SWITZERLAND WHITE 64GB (059M6M9)
RM-696 NDT SWITZERLAND MAGENTA 16GB (059K753)
RM-696 NDT SWITZERLAND CYAN 16GB (059K756)
RM-696 NDT SWITZERLAND BLACK 64GB (059K772)
RM-696 NDT SWITZERLAND BLACK 16GB (059K748)
you need only "DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_009-OEM1-958_ARM.bin"

for regional content (MMC/EMMC) you can use these variants:
RM-696 NDT UK IRELAND MAGENTA 16GB (059K1F5)
RM-696 NDT UK IRELAND CYAN 16GB (059K0W0)
RM-696 NDT UK IRELAND BLACK 64GB (059J186)
RM-696 NDT UK IRELAND BLACK 16GB (059J1Z7)
you need only "DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.13-7.UKIRELAND_EMMC_UKIRELAND.bin"

for modem (CMT) use one of these variants:
RM-696 NDT CHINA MAGENTA 16GB (059K1T4)
RM-696 NDT CHINA CYAN 16GB (059K164)
RM-696 NDT CHINA BLACK 16GB (059J250)
you need only "DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958_ARM.bin"

OR if the CMT above did not work for you try this one:
N9 RM-696 PRC China Unicom CN PRC CU Black v1 (059L5T5)
you need only "DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.418.2_PR_LEGACY_418_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin"

after download place all files in a folder and follow the tutorial step by step. do not forget to move Flasher to the same folder. you can also use my commands below after you prepared everything:
Code:
flasher -f -F DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_009-OEM1-958_ARM.bin --erase-user-data=secure
Code:
flasher -f -F DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_009-OEM1-958_ARM.bin -F DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.13-7.UKIRELAND_EMMC_UKIRELAND.bin --flash-only=mmc
Code:
flasher -f -F DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958_ARM.bin --flash-only=cmt
OR (use this if the previous not worked for you)
Code:
flasher -f -F DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.418.2_PR_LEGACY_418_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin --flash-only=cmt
and then reboot your phone to finish.
Code:
flasher -R
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ViBE For This Useful Post:
Posts: 509 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Jul 2012 @ Mexico/Germany
#1363
Yes but the answer is here in this thread a couple of times.
You have a chinese FW, no way to change this
 
Posts: 27 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Jan 2012
#1364
Thank you for your response ViBE: very comprehensive. Sadly I've found that my N9 has a dead strip in its touchscreen (can't press U,J,N keys on keyboard) so it's being sent back. I'll have to wait for a refund/replacement before I can put the above advice into action.


To chilango: I know that I can't change the CMT portion of the Chinese firmware, but the rest can be replaced, as described in this thread.

Last edited by kazzie; 2015-11-21 at 08:07. Reason: Rephrase
 
Posts: 128 | Thanked: 105 times | Joined on Dec 2014 @ Hungary
#1365
Originally Posted by kazzie View Post
Thank you for your response ViBE: very comprehensive. Sadly I've found that my N9 has a dead strip in its touchscreen (can't press U,J,N keys on keyboard) so it's being sent back. I'll have to wait for a refund/replacement before I can put the above advice into action.


To chilango: I know that I can't change the CMT portion of the Chinese firmware, but the rest can be replaced, as described in this thread.
sad to hear. mine is refurbished too but works perfectly. maybe they will give you an EU variant next time and flashing will be much easier. who knows.
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2016
#1366
So I have Chineese N9 which was flashed with:
DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.418.2_PR_418 (tag on SIM tray was 059J245, but real firmware checked with flasher, corresponding to DFL61... above tag: 059L5T6 = China Unicorn).

I was really unhappy to discover, that my new N9 from China (for backup of old beloved N9) was flashed with such a high variant.

NaviFirm+ shows, that only a few of branded firmwares could be used to flash my device:
T-Mobile Austria: variant 430 (059L6C3)
Telcel MX MX: variant 420 (059L449 spain)
Vietnam: variant 454

After a lot of reading on Maemo.org I discovered post about UbiBoot, which allow to use any kernel.

Ubiboot is installed now on China N9, and before I would invest my time, and perhaps do something stupid I would like to make sure, that my reasoning is correct:

With ubiboot,
- I have access in "maintenance mode" on N9 connected to Linux to all partitions.
- with flasher-3.5 I could extract firmware from eg. 059J1Z5, and copy all files to rootfs, to replace Chinese variant 418, and obtain N9 working with European 059J1Z5 version with variant 001???
- then I would need to flash "CMT only" from original 059L5T6 to be able to use GSM modem in Europe???

And in this way I would escape from "variant lockup" of my new Chinese N9??

Any suggestions and corrections of my assumptions highly appreciated :-).

If I am wrong I will go for flashing as described by VIBE a few posts earlier
 
Posts: 128 | Thanked: 105 times | Joined on Dec 2014 @ Hungary
#1367
Originally Posted by N9x3 View Post
So I have Chineese N9 which was flashed with:
DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.418.2_PR_418 (tag on SIM tray was 059J245, but real firmware checked with flasher, corresponding to DFL61... above tag: 059L5T6 = China Unicorn).

I was really unhappy to discover, that my new N9 from China (for backup of old beloved N9) was flashed with such a high variant.

NaviFirm+ shows, that only a few of branded firmwares could be used to flash my device:
T-Mobile Austria: variant 430 (059L6C3)
Telcel MX MX: variant 420 (059L449 spain)
Vietnam: variant 454

After a lot of reading on Maemo.org I discovered post about UbiBoot, which allow to use any kernel.

Ubiboot is installed now on China N9, and before I would invest my time, and perhaps do something stupid I would like to make sure, that my reasoning is correct:

With ubiboot,
- I have access in "maintenance mode" on N9 connected to Linux to all partitions.
- with flasher-3.5 I could extract firmware from eg. 059J1Z5, and copy all files to rootfs, to replace Chinese variant 418, and obtain N9 working with European 059J1Z5 version with variant 001???
- then I would need to flash "CMT only" from original 059L5T6 to be able to use GSM modem in Europe???

And in this way I would escape from "variant lockup" of my new Chinese N9??

Any suggestions and corrections of my assumptions highly appreciated :-).

If I am wrong I will go for flashing as described by VIBE a few posts earlier
sure. just follow that instruction above. and yes you cannot connect to the GSM network if you try to use non chinese CMT. of course you can use any other MMC/EMMC.
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2016
#1368
@VIBE

Just to confirm, as I am not sure what "Sure" in your post means:

1. After copying content of extracted MCU firmware image into rootfs partition, I will get eg. N9 that will went from variant 418 to variant 001?
2. Because it is Chinese version, after that I will not be able to connect to EU GSM networks, therefore I need then to flash "CMT only" part from original Chinese MCU firmware to be able to connect EU GSM.
3. After such operations, my phone will be variant 001?
 
Posts: 128 | Thanked: 105 times | Joined on Dec 2014 @ Hungary
#1369
Originally Posted by N9x3 View Post
@VIBE

Just to confirm, as I am not sure what "Sure" in your post means:

1. After copying content of extracted MCU firmware image into rootfs partition, I will get eg. N9 that will went from variant 418 to variant 001?
2. Because it is Chinese version, after that I will not be able to connect to EU GSM networks, therefore I need then to flash "CMT only" part from original Chinese MCU firmware to be able to connect EU GSM.
3. After such operations, my phone will be variant 001?
oh i thought you want to change the current chinese firmware to eu 2. if you want this you cannot change to simply 001 eu variant. if you checked the thread's article (1st post) you saw the following:

001 - Europe (1), Latin/South America, South Africa
003 - China
005 - Asia/Pacific (incl. Australia/New Zealand, excl. China)
006 - Middle East
009 - Europe (2)
2xx, 3xx, 4xx - "Country Variant" and carrier-branded images

1. you have a 418 variant. that means that your current firmware is a branded chinese varian but the "basic" variant is 003. so you can flash your phone with higher basic variants 005/006/009.
2. yes, you only need the CMT from the chinese firmware cause the phone cannot use the RF modules with other CMT's.
3. you can change only to the same or higher variants. 009 recommended in this case (as i mentioned in my tutorial).
 
Posts: 27 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Jan 2012
#1370
Originally Posted by N9x3 View Post
@VIBE

Just to confirm, as I am not sure what "Sure" in your post means:

2. Because it is Chinese version, after that I will not be able to connect to EU GSM networks, therefore I need then to flash "CMT only" part from original Chinese MCU firmware to be able to connect EU GSM.
I've had a Chinese-region N9, and it was able to connect to 2G/3G networks in the UK with no problem. The need to "over-flash" with the Chinese CMT is just because downgrading to the earlier worldwide CMT (as part of a full reflash) doesn't work.
 
Reply

Tags
flashing, nokia n9


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17.