Reply
Thread Tools
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#1
Hi all,
Is there any method to change the user agent of the stock browser on N9 running PR1.2 to android or iOS?

The previous method of editing the grob file doesn't work anymore as the existing file can't be replaced via terminal or via ssh (permission denied even though logged in as devel-su).

All help is greatly appreciated.

Edit: the following solves the issue:

- first backup your grob file from /usr/bin to your MyDocs directory
- then download a modified grob file http://db.tt/ULDickkp
- install inception
- install opensh via inception (follow instructions from inception thread)
- in terminal enter devel-su
password (rootme)
opensh
cp -R /home/user/MyDocs/(path to modified grob) /usr/bin/

that's it you have android 4.0.1 as your UA now.

the above renders the stock browser unusable after a reboot.
to workaround do the following:
open terminal
devel-su
password (rootme)
opensh
cp -R /home/user/MyDocs/(path to original grob) /usr/bin/
cp -R /home/user/MyDocs/(path to modified grob) /usr/bin/

hope it works for you.

P.S. before replacing the original grob with my file do a check to see if the modified file is the exact same size as your original grob down to the singular byte (1,286,392 bytes)


Credit to legoman666 for showing the way to modify grob


---------------

04/12/12: For PR1.3 please refer to this thread or simply use Tweak M from N9QTweak.

For PR1.2 the grob above still works and can be made permanent by using refhashlist.pl from this thread

Last edited by thedead1440; 2012-12-04 at 06:17.
 
cddiede's Avatar
Posts: 1,034 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Annapolis, MD
#2
Yeah, trying to change it manually in the stock web browser is a real good way to break that browser.

The current official version of Opera does not have the browser agent setting that was present in previous beta builds.

The current version of Firefox for the N9 in the Nokia store does let you set your browser type and it works well if you install the Phoney add on.

Setting Firefox to "Firefox Desktop" mode results in the full desktop versions of both youtube and facebook perfectly.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cddiede For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#3
i know about firefox and phony.

the issue is that it's still slower than the stock browser.

using gmail and hotmail on the stock browser with the UA of Android allows a much better user experience which is my main reason for the change in UA. bookmarking these shortcuts onto the desktop allow for quick access to my accounts as and when needed (especially when fennix acts up).
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#4
does anybody else know how to force replace the grob file?
 
Moderator | Posts: 5,320 | Thanked: 4,464 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#5
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
i know about firefox and phony.

the issue is that it's still slower than the stock browser.
Have you tried the beta/aurora/nightly(aka central) builds from Romaxa's site?
I've found the nightly to be notably faster, & surprisingly stable so far (touch wood).

Last edited by jalyst; 2012-03-10 at 07:45.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jalyst For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#6
ok got the workaround for pr1.2...

install inception followed by opensh.

then just do a cp -R from MyDocs to /usr/bin.

do remember grob for pr1.2 is abit different. i've attached mine which is for android 4.0.1. do check if the exact size of my file is the same as yours before replacing it.

http://db.tt/ULDickkp
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 5,320 | Thanked: 4,464 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#7
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
ok got the workaround for pr1.2...

install inception followed by opensh.

then just do a cp -R from MyDocs to /usr/bin.

do remember grob for pr1.2 is abit different. i've attached mine which is for android 4.0.1. do check if the exact size of my file is the same as yours before replacing it.

http://db.tt/ULDickkp
opensh as in the secure shell env?
So overwrite the existing grob with this?

grob is on Android 4.0.1?
I thought grob was the basically the closed UI component of the native browser that also interfaces w/the engine (webkit) ofc.
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#8
Yes grob is closed but at the other thread one user managed to change the hex values to show the UA of Android 4.0.1.

For pr1.2, do the following:
make a copy of the original grob to MyDocs.

run opensh in terminal after following the steps in inception thread.
replace the original grob with the modified grob.
after a reboot u need to copy back the original grob before replacing it again with the modified grob.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 5,320 | Thanked: 4,464 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#9
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
Yes grob is closed but at the other thread one user managed to change the hex values to show the UA of Android 4.0.1.

For pr1.2, do the following:
make a copy of the original grob to MyDocs.

run opensh in terminal after following the steps in inception thread.
replace the original grob with the modified grob.
after a reboot u need to copy back the original grob before replacing it again with the modified grob.
ah makes sense, initial post wasn't that clear to me, ty.
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#10
Now all that is needed to simplify the steps is one developer to write a script that starts after every reboot which first copies back the original grob to /usr/bin/ and then replacing it with the modified grob.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:09.