Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
ARJWright's Avatar
Posts: 861 | Thanked: 734 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Nomadic
#1
Here's something that I've wondered...

Is it possible to force every application to launch (and stay launched even when a new window is opened) fullscreen?

Not that it would probably be something easily exposed, but that would be a neat feature to have (for Diablo) and many apps on my N800.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ARJWright For This Useful Post:
Texrat's Avatar
Posts: 11,700 | Thanked: 10,045 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ North Texas, USA
#2
Sounds like a potentially nice app to develop...
__________________
Nokia Developer Champion
Different <> Wrong | Listen - Judgment = Progress | People + Trust = Success
My personal site: http://texrat.net
 
claesbas's Avatar
Posts: 290 | Thanked: 472 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Gothenburg, Sweden
#3
I like that idea too... there is no need for "window mode" on tablet..
 
Posts: 609 | Thanked: 232 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ the end of my rope
#4
Originally Posted by claesbas View Post
I like that idea too... there is no need for "window mode" on tablet..
There is if you want to be able to close windows without hitting a hardware button.

But I too would like to see this developed.
__________________
Maemofo
 
Posts: 397 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Toronto, Ontario
#5
I'm not sure if this is for every application, but I'm pretty sure if you close Maemo Mapper when full screen, when you relaunch it, it opens full screen. I'd test right now, but my battery is about to die and I'm getting ready to leave work. I think I did that with the web browswer as well.

Or I'm just crazy...
 
BrentDC's Avatar
Posts: 903 | Thanked: 632 times | Joined on Apr 2008
#6
Just tested it and MM remembers. It is really quite simple to implement (on an app-by-app basis). You just need to save off the current setting to the applications main settings file, then set the window to that setting at load time.

I think I'll add this behavior to my apps.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to BrentDC For This Useful Post:
Posts: 751 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ East Gowanus
#7
Its a simple idea that would really be useful. Since you are using the tablet two handed most of the time anyway having to touch a hardware button to exit isn't too bad. I multitask most of my apps anyway so I always use the hardware button to switch between them.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#8
Like:

#! /bin/sh

while true; do
wmctrl -r :ACTIVE: -b add,fullscreen
done


Way to kill a battery though
 
ARJWright's Avatar
Posts: 861 | Thanked: 734 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Nomadic
#9
Originally Posted by BrentDC View Post
Just tested it and MM remembers. It is really quite simple to implement (on an app-by-app basis). You just need to save off the current setting to the applications main settings file, then set the window to that setting at load time.

I think I'll add this behavior to my apps.
That's great that it can be added on an app-by-app basis. Something in my UI/UX side of thinking says that such a feature should probably have been a rule for apps on Diablo.

Now the money question: can that be set outside of the individual application to control applications that might not have that trigger for full-screen memory enabled or not.

My thinking is something like a new panel within Control Panel to do this or other global actions that would append any installed applications with such a trigger.
 
Posts: 34 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#10
Originally Posted by qwerty12 View Post
Like:

#! /bin/sh

while true; do
wmctrl -r :ACTIVE: -b add,fullscreen
done


Way to kill a battery though
what is this?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52.