Posts: 24 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ Lakeland, FL
I'm completely new to python programing but have a small understanding of visual basic. I'D like to get my feet wet and try my hands at making a python "frontend" to a sqlite database. Specificly a simple logbook app that would record time, date, address, service, odometer mileage. Then hAve the ability to search for when I did a certain job. Later on I'd like to add the ability to get lat/long from my bt gps and record that data as well.

The waY I imagine doing this is making a form, then putting in the code to make it operate. I've seen a few blurbs and comments regarding sqlite and python but no real tutorials. Is there a better way to record my data?

My question is, with my vb.net mentality- what tools should I gather? I bought a couple of o'reilly books on python (learning 2.3 & programing python2.0), I downloaded pygtk as well as the latest python and sqlite.exe on my WinXP laptop. Assuming the code is as portable as I've heard, I plan on coding on laptop then copying the .py file to n800. Are there any gotchas that I am overlooking? What if anythiNg would make my journey easier?

Sorry about the ranDOM CApitals, posting from my n800 and they keep popping up.

Posts: 39 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ Them thar hills
Originally Posted by smileyninja View Post
My question is, with my vb.net mentality- what tools should I gather? I bought a couple of o'reilly books on python (learning 2.3 & programing python2.0), I downloaded pygtk as well as the latest python and sqlite.exe on my WinXP laptop. Assuming the code is as portable as I've heard, I plan on coding on laptop then copying the .py file to n800. Are there any gotchas that I am overlooking? What if anythiNg would make my journey easier?