Reply
Thread Tools
richhanz's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Netherlands
#21
Since the latest update 1.0.3.8 WiFi is unreliable.

Running this script as devel-su
Code:
#!/bin/sh

rmmod wlan

sleep 20

modprobe wlan
Succesfully resets the WiFi without the need of rebooting

It seems that the Jolla has the most difficulties with switching from one to another WiFi network.

Funny thing is after above script switching goes better and indication is off with a good WiFi connection:


Last edited by richhanz; 2014-02-04 at 19:02. Reason: Info added
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to richhanz For This Useful Post:
bockersjv's Avatar
Posts: 857 | Thanked: 1,206 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Chertsey in the Thames, United Kingdom
#22
I had the connection issue again yesterday. One improvement since 1.0.3.8 is that the phone is not as slow now when the connection errors are appearing. Before it made the phone unusable now at least i can get to settings etc. However the only fix is a re-boot
__________________
Proud owner of Jolla phone, number 274.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to bockersjv For This Useful Post:
richhanz's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Netherlands
#23
Originally Posted by bockersjv View Post
I had the connection issue again yesterday. One improvement since 1.0.3.8 is that the phone is not as slow now when the connection errors are appearing. Before it made the phone unusable now at least i can get to settings etc. However the only fix is a re-boot
Have you tried above commands?
 
richhanz's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Netherlands
#24
Originally Posted by richhanz View Post
Running this script as devel-su
I made a shortcut to it :

https://together.jolla.com/question/...ithout-reboot/
 

The Following User Says Thank You to richhanz For This Useful Post:
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#25
I created rpm package based on your instaruction
https://openrepos.net/content/schturman/wlan-reset


PS. why it should be 20 sec ?

Last edited by Schturman; 2014-02-07 at 13:18.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Schturman For This Useful Post:
richhanz's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Netherlands
#26
Originally Posted by Schturman View Post
I created rpm package based on your instaruction
https://openrepos.net/content/schturman/wlan-reset
Nice.

I extended my script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

DATE_TIME=`date +%Y-%m-%d_%H-%M-%S`
LOG_PATH=/var/log
LOG_FILE=wpa_supplicant.log

OLD_LOG=$LOG_PATH/$LOG_FILE
BAK_LOG=$LOG_PATH/$LOG_FILE.$DATE_TIME

rmmod wlan

# move the log file with a timestamp
mv $OLD_LOG $BAK_LOG

sleep 20

modprobe wlan

sleep 20

# roll over the log file
wpa_cli relog >> $BAK_LOG 2>&1
PS. why it should be 20 sec ?
To give the kernel the change to settle, doing it faster boosted the load of the Jolla to 16+

Likewise the second sleep; doing it faster wpa_cli relog doesn't work.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to richhanz For This Useful Post:
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#27
Thanks, I will update script in the new version, but tell me why now we need operations with log file ?

Last edited by Schturman; 2014-02-07 at 20:19.
 
richhanz's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Netherlands
#28
It is not needed. It breaks a large file in smaller pieces and you exactly know when the wlan was reset. So far wpa_supplicant.log is the only wlan logging I found. I would like to why the WLAN has troubles.

The Jolla synchronizes its time using NTP.

The last two lines of a timestamped file
Code:
Selected interface 'wlan0'
OK
are from a succesfull relog

Last edited by richhanz; 2014-02-07 at 21:34. Reason: info added
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#29
Thanks for explanation.. That mean it need for those who want to monitoring this logs.
I will create new version for those who want it...
 
richhanz's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Netherlands
#30
By default the log level is INFO

This command
Code:
wpa_cli log_level DEBUG 1
increases logging info with a epoch timestamp in front of it

Beware it produces a large file, currently 10k/min
 

The Following User Says Thank You to richhanz For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:55.