Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on May 2010
#131
As of step 6 maybe I should use,

flasher-3.5.exe -r nameOFyourROOTimage -f -R

instead of

flasher-3.5.exe -r nameOFyourROOTimage -f
 
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 78 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#132
Originally Posted by RobbieThe1st View Post
Well, I'm not opposed; If someone who knows Multiboot code wants to try to figure it out, I'll do my best to help out.

I have a feeling though that, without changing Multiboot's code, there are two options:
1. run it via console mode or,
2. set up an item that loads the Maemo OS, but somehow launches BackupMenu in the boot process. (with boot options?)
Reading multiboot's code (v0.2.5) there are some options that could provide a way to execute BackupMenu.item script.

Code:
main()
{
	local sel i

	init_hw
	init_fs
	init_pm

	if [ -f ${BOOT_FAST} ]
	then
		FAST_BOOT=YES
		rm -f ${BOOT_FAST}
	fi
	
	if [ -f ${BOOT_ITEM} ]
	then
		load_config 99 ${BOOT_ITEM}
	fi

	if is_fast_boot || ! is_slide_open
	then
		boot_item 99
	fi

	init_screen
	init_backlight
	read_config
	
	while :
	do
		print_menu
		
		sel=$(wait_keypress)
	
		echo -e -n '\r'

		case $sel in

			# Timeout
			D)   sel=99 ;;

			# Enter
		        28)  sel=99 ;;

			# 0-9
			16)  sel=1 ;;
			17)  sel=2 ;;
			18)  sel=3 ;;
			19)  sel=4 ;;
			20)  sel=5 ;;
			21)  sel=6 ;;
			22)  sel=7 ;;
			23)  sel=8 ;;
			24)  sel=9 ;;
			25)  sel=0 ;;
		        
			# S - shell
			31)  boot_shell ;;

		        # Backscape - reboot
		        14)  safe_reboot ;;

			# X - poweroff
                        45)  safe_poweroff ;;

		        # B - Fallback if everything else fails
		        48)  boot_script /sbin/preinit_real  ;;
		    
			# D -  Debugging another script
			32)  boot_script /sbin/multiboot_debug  ;;

		esac

		if [ -n "$(array NAME $sel)" ]
		then
			wait_screen $sel
			boot_item $sel
		fi
	done
}


main

# End
The " # S - shell 31) boot_shell ;; " option should open a shell but unfortunately in my system that just doesn't work. The screen goes black and powers off after some time.

The " # D - Debugging another script 32) boot_script /sbin/multiboot_debug ;; " seams like some testing script for debug proposes but i couldn't find any sbin/multiboot_debug in my system.
So perhaps it could be changed to:

Code:
# D -  Debugging another script
32)  boot_script /sbin/BackupMenu.item  ;;
Now it would only be necessary to move BackupMenu.item script to /sbin.

I haven't tested it yet as i am on holidays and away from my pc to reflash if anything goes wrong.

If there is anyone brave enough to do it them please report back.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#133
Originally Posted by sacal View Post
Now it would only be necessary to move BackupMenu.item script to /sbin.
Remember that all this is happening in the initrd, not in the normal N900 filesystem. You'll also need to make sure all the programs used by the BackupMenu script are also available in the initrd.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 78 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#134
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Remember that all this is happening in the initrd, not in the normal N900 filesystem. You'll also need to make sure all the programs used by the BackupMenu script are also available in the initrd.
Rob1n

Thanks for your reply.

I really don't know what programs are used by BackupMenu. However, as I read the in the 1st post that:

Originally Posted by RobbieThe1st View Post
Multiboot:
As I have been asked about 4 times in this thread, when I already posted the answer on the second page...
Will Multiboot work with my script?
I just took a look at it - it probably -won't-, at least not by copying it into /etc/multiboot.d/.
You can -probably- get it to work the same by:
1. at the boot prompt, press C for console.
2. type "/path/to/BackupMenu.item"
If that doesn't work, make sure its marked as executable by running:
"chmod +x /path/to/BackupMenu.item"
.

i thought that BackupMenu.item could run from the console option of multiboot.

Unfortunately, in my system, the C option of multiboot (0.2.5) doesn't work and i can't test it.
 
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#135
Programs used by BackupMenu:
/usr/bin/text2screen
expr
cat
/usr/sbin/evkey
modprobe
ifconfig
dd
cksum
echo
insmod
/lib/modules/current/phonet.ko
/lib/modules/current/g_nokia.ko
mount
mkdir
/sbin/udevd
/sbin/udevadm
hwclock
awk
getty
umount
fsck
sleep
chmod
/usr/sbin/sshd (for SSH server - optional)
date
find
sync
reboot
poweroff

Thats the full list of programs called. I have a feeling that 90% of them are part of the BusyBox executable; copying that and a bunch of symlinks will take care of those.
Anything that has a full path in my app has it here; everything else shouldn't matter so long as it is in the $PATH.


Edit:
Tan, you are correct in your last post. You need to flash your rootFS image -as- a rootFS image, not a fiasco image.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RobbieThe1st For This Useful Post:
Posts: 162 | Thanked: 52 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#136
FYI this worked great for me on 0.32 when I needed to get it back up and running

Glad I read through the 14 pages first instead of just asking )

Thanks

Originally Posted by RobbieThe1st View Post
You can try this:
1. flash to PR1.2
2. Boot up, install BackupMenu V.32.
3. Reboot into BackupMenu
4. Restore the OptFS.
5. Connect your USB cable, ready the Maemo flasher utility and reboot your N900
6. Flash PR1.2 again, then flash your RootFS image.
 
Posts: 326 | Thanked: 335 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#137
Robbie

Here my image

http://www.maemomeego.net/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=929

Do you think that sharing it here on maemo.org in a new 3d could be a good thing ?
 
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#138
Go ahead and post it; it can't hurt. I'd also like to see other people trying it and see if these images can be transfered between N900 most of the time or if they can't.
 
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#139
Robbie, do you have any new hints at the reason why restoring the rootfs from the device itself never works for some of us?
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 
Posts: 326 | Thanked: 335 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#140
Originally Posted by RobbieThe1st View Post
Go ahead and post it; it can't hurt. I'd also like to see other people trying it and see if these images can be transfered between N900 most of the time or if they can't.
Ok i'll open a 3d here

Robbie there is a small problem here... there is a bit of italian .. but the error in writen in english

http://www.maemomeego.net/viewtopic....ngle_Post_View

What could be?
Post number 42
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:44.