Active Topics

Posts: 30 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Cabot, Arkansas
Im new to developing and i want to try and make a small app that displays the current desktop and sticks to all desktops. sort of like the default ubuntu workspace displayer (default botom right).

I have sdk and sucessfuly compiled sample code. The problem is i dont know where to start besides looking through sample code and googleing. Is this a good app/widget idea or should i not even waist my time and try something easier?

I've read books on programing, and i know my code needs to "listen" for "call" from the OS events. how can I discover whats happening when i scroll the desktop?

What code should i use for this project. QT, python, or C++?

Those are some of the question that would really help me get started.

thanks

Last edited by tmillz; 2009-10-16 at 00:51.

Posts: 170 | Thanked: 261 times | Joined on Feb 2009 @ Gothenburg, Sweden
I really think the best way of starting out is developing a widget. That is a web based runtime, or in other words, a simple web app.

ok good advice. what about a widget that will play java based games off the internet. i know there is a websight that my wife always goes to with fun little games. maybee my widget can offer easier access and better displaying of the game for n900.

Last edited by tmillz; 2009-10-16 at 15:25.

Does the n900 flash support .swf files? the sdk does not load the games and my n810 doesn't load them either. I did some checking and it looks like gnash would be a good starting point for a stand alone .swf player that I could incorporate into the game widget that connects to the web sights like the above and lists or lets you search for games. What do you think? waist of time or what?

Last edited by chemist; 2019-11-03 at 16:11. Reason: Link removed on request of domain

Posts: 1,665 | Thanked: 1,649 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Praha, Czech Republic