Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
b-man's Avatar
Posts: 549 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Bowling Green Ohio (united states)
#1
GNOME
Who says you can't get full-blown gnome onto your internet tablet!


Firstly, i would like to thank fatalsaint and Stskeeps for helping, thank you.

Currently their are two ways to install Gnome Option 1 is to install Gnome thrue Stskeeps installer (currently nit-env-gnome-basic is available) and Option2, thrue theas instructions. (If you want to install full blown Gnome, follow theas instructions, I am currently busy with nit-env-gnome-full and will update this post when it is complete.)

Also, two screenshots are provided at the bottom of this post with the last one being my costom desktop with the marrine gtk theme engine.


What works~
*Power management- even login/logout in gdm
*wierless- in Debian beta4
*the powermenu will launch with the power button!
*sound ~ (unconfermed for me)
*Basicly allmost everything
what needs work: Gnome splash screen manager ~ (Refuses to install other splash themes.)


How to:

Minimum requirments:

*At least a 4gig memory card
*Debian beta4 (for less memory consumion i'd use "nit-evn-x")
*Extreme pashints (depending on your connection, this may take a verry long time (4-5 hours), i'd recomend to start this early in the morning because it may not be done until around noon.


installation:

Step1 Read the instructions on Stskeep's website and download/run the Debian installer making shure that you have all dependincys installed.


Step2 If the install went well, run "chroot /mnt/nit-debian" If the install did not go well, run "chroot /mnt/nit-debian" before continuing and then run "apt-get -f install".


Step3 Now it's time to install gnome , if you wish to get gnome with a full blown office sute and media sute (gimp, openoffice, Abiword, Xournal, ect..) With everything installed, run "apt-get -f install gnome", this will take up about 1.5 gb of memory. However, if you just want a desktop environment, just run "apt-get -f install gnome-desktop-enviornment", this will take up about 700-900 mb of memory.


Step 4 Now we need to edit the /etc/gdm/gdm.conf file so we can use the desktop with the touch screen, just add theas to the file, also, the "AutomaticLogin=user" would be your user password:

[daemon]
# Automatic login, if true the first attached screen will automatically logged
# in as user as set with AutomaticLogin key.
AutomaticLoginEnable=true
AutomaticLogin=user

[server-Standard]
name=Standard server
command=/usr/X11R6/bin/X -audit 0 -mouse tslib -nozap -dpi 96 -wr -nolisten tcp
flexible=true


Step 5 Now to install the matchbox-keyboard so we can type in gnome, Just run "apt-get -f install matchbox-keyboard"

Step6 run "exit" and "umount /mnt/nit-debian" and reboot.
Attached Images
  
__________________
I'm an advanced user and a bit of a modder.
----------------------------------------------
I am involved with Mer, Deblet, and NITdroid.
My ports/creations/hacks: GNOME (for Deblet), Cdeb2, Ubuntu, playable flash games in the "Get Started" app, DBS, ect...


enhanced fedora port has been canceled in favor of NITDebian (TBA)

Last edited by b-man; 2008-08-27 at 14:11.
 

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to b-man For This Useful Post:
Underscore's Avatar
Posts: 276 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Missouri, USA
#2
Awesome! How fast does it run?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Underscore For This Useful Post:
b-man's Avatar
Posts: 549 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Bowling Green Ohio (united states)
#3
It runs pritty well, infact it is just as fast as kde in maemo
__________________
I'm an advanced user and a bit of a modder.
----------------------------------------------
I am involved with Mer, Deblet, and NITdroid.
My ports/creations/hacks: GNOME (for Deblet), Cdeb2, Ubuntu, playable flash games in the "Get Started" app, DBS, ect...


enhanced fedora port has been canceled in favor of NITDebian (TBA)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to b-man For This Useful Post:
Underscore's Avatar
Posts: 276 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Missouri, USA
#4
This is really awesome
Just wish I was smart enough to boot Debian.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Underscore For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,428 | Thanked: 2,855 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#5
Haha...congrats b-man. Only thing i suggest is you dont actually need this:
Code:
#USERNAME=`cat /etc/tablet_user`
XSERVERARGS="-mouse tslib -nozap -dpi 96 -wr -nolisten tcp"
start_daemon $DAEMON $XSERVERARGS
change that to just
Code:
start_daemon $DAEMON
and it should work fine. Well done man.
__________________
If I've helped you or you use any of my packages feel free to help me out.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maintaining:
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fatalsaint For This Useful Post:
b-man's Avatar
Posts: 549 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Bowling Green Ohio (united states)
#6
Thanks!, i applyed the changes.
__________________
I'm an advanced user and a bit of a modder.
----------------------------------------------
I am involved with Mer, Deblet, and NITdroid.
My ports/creations/hacks: GNOME (for Deblet), Cdeb2, Ubuntu, playable flash games in the "Get Started" app, DBS, ect...


enhanced fedora port has been canceled in favor of NITDebian (TBA)
 
Posts: 3,428 | Thanked: 2,855 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#7
Noticed your sig.. rotation already should work.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

touch ~/.rotation
if [ $(cat ~/.rotation) -eq 1 ] ; then
	xrandr -o normal
	echo 0 > ~/.rotation
else
	xrandr -o left
	echo 1 > ~/.rotation
fi
I have that inside my ~/bin/ and made a toolbar applet for it. Works fine. I didn't write that... think i got it from qole's original debian...who in turn got it from someone else - so not sure who to thank for it
__________________
If I've helped you or you use any of my packages feel free to help me out.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maintaining:
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fatalsaint For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,428 | Thanked: 2,855 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#8
b-man: Another thing to look at .. found this little gem:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=298835

A minimal Gnome... more lightweight and theoretically "snappier" if you just install:

Code:
apt-get install gnome-core gdm gnome-media gnome-system-monitor gnome-system-tools gnome-volume-manager gnome-utils gnome-app-install synaptic iceweasel
MAYBE adding
Code:
apt-get install evince file-roller gdebi alacarte totem sound-juicer
Not sure if it works the same/faster/better/whatever than the full blown Gnome.. I will try it tonight (I totally hosed my SD card today; re-installing from SVN through a tethered Phone ).

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=89491 has some suggestions on disabling startup options as well that I'll be going through. Being that Gnome ran decently (once I starting mounting my swap) as a full Desktop (slower than IceWM still though).. maybe with these enhancements you can get a Gnome desktop that moves almost as quickly as the "lightweight" XFCE-types.
__________________
If I've helped you or you use any of my packages feel free to help me out.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maintaining:
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!

Last edited by fatalsaint; 2008-08-05 at 14:25.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fatalsaint For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,809 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#9
(substitute "iceweasel" for "firefox" of course! This is Debian, not Ubuntu )
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,428 | Thanked: 2,855 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#10
Originally Posted by qole View Post
(substitute "iceweasel" for "firefox" of course! This is Debian, not Ubuntu )
Yeah.. noticed that last night when I ran it ... Fixed in original post .. thanks qole.

Also, since the reload.. Gnome looks nearly the same.. seems to be a few differences in the task bar area and of course a lot of the software isn't there (which was sort of the point).. but it's running great.. pretty nifty to see a "heavy" desktop run fairly well on the tablets... I kinda went overkill on my Swap though.. 600mb Swap with the 128mb internal memory. I'd say this isn't much slower than XFCE, speedwise, but definitely not as quick as IceWM.

Total for my system is 1.8GB on the card... including Xchat, Pidgin, Kazehakase, mpd, gmpc, and a few other apps. Not too bad - but seems to be equivalent to the "gnome-desktop-environment".. maybe a little smaller.

Edit: OK.. to install "Gnome-Desktop-Environment" over my current setup would take an additional 98 packages @ 364MB of additional space on the drive. So I guess it is a bit smaller.
__________________
If I've helped you or you use any of my packages feel free to help me out.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maintaining:
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!

Last edited by fatalsaint; 2008-08-05 at 14:38.
 
Reply

Tags
debian, deblet, gnome

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18.