Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 57 | Thanked: 42 times | Joined on Mar 2011 @ France
#141
The script doesn't suceed. I've choosed to not download meego image (because I've already placed it in the same directory). I've edited the preinstall kubuntu image name to "precise-preinstalled-mobile-armel+omap.img.gz" (seems that the file has been changed since the 11-07-2011). After a while, the script return:
Code:
+ mount /dev/sdc1 /mnt
+ [[ testing == \c\o\r\e ]]
+ [[ testing == \s\t\a\b\l\e ]]
+ mount -t proc /proc /mnt/proc
mount: mount point /mnt/proc does not exist
+ mount -o bind /dev /mnt/dev
mount: mount point /mnt/dev does not exist
+ mount -o bind /dev/pts /mnt/dev/pts
mount: mount point /mnt/dev/pts does not exist
+ mount -o bind /sys /mnt/sys
mount: mount point /mnt/sys does not exist
+ cp /usr/bin/qemu-arm-static /mnt/usr/bin/
cp: cannot create regular file `/mnt/usr/bin/': No such file or directory
+ cp install-chroot-part.sh /mnt/tmp
+ chmod +x /mnt/tmp/install-chroot-part.sh
chmod: cannot access `/mnt/tmp/install-chroot-part.sh': Not a directory
+ cp kubuntu-mobile-n900-integration_0.1_all.deb /mnt/tmp
+ chroot /mnt /tmp/install-chroot-part.sh testing
chroot: failed to run command `/tmp/install-chroot-part.sh': Not a directory
+ false
+ mkdir /media/fat
mkdir: cannot create directory `/media/fat': File exists
+ mount /dev/sdc3 /media/fat
+ cp /mnt/boot/uImage /media/fat
cp: cannot stat `/mnt/boot/uImage': No such file or directory
+ exit 1
 

The Following User Says Thank You to krutznikov For This Useful Post:
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 5,028 | Thanked: 8,613 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#142
Originally Posted by Aravinda View Post
The button '+ and -' treated (at least I see that in mc with lxde) as F7 and F8.
volume keys are threaten as F8/F7 also in Maemo - scancodes generated by them, are F7/F8, in fact

/Estel
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#143
krutznikov,
you get error(s) somewhere earlier, than the part of the code you quote;
before mounting host OS directories to the /mnt/"arm_guest_dirs"
those "arm_guest_dirs" (dev, proc, sys and others which are not mount points but contain OS) should be created. In the script (of int_ua) they are done here (the lines of the script, where you do not get result indeed):

mount -o loop,offset=$skip -t auto $image_name_raw /media/source || exit 1
cp -a /media/source/* /mnt
umount /media/source

(sure, that the variables are defined before; to run the commands out of the whole script, it is necessary to put values instead)

Check whether the (OS) image you want was decompressed (a big file about 2 Gb) with the same name but no .gz at the end,
then look that that raw image mounted to /media/source

(Running the script, look for error messages earlier than that part of the messages you submitted here.)



Try to put in the row (of the script)

image_name="kubuntu-11.04-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img.gz"

the name of the file, you want to install
(having that file in the same directory, but not a link on that file)

Last edited by Aravinda; 2011-11-11 at 20:29.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Aravinda For This Useful Post:
kralde's Avatar
Posts: 168 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Madrid
#144
Any hints for install kubuntu mobile on eMMC? =) thanks a lot
 
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#145
kralde,
I think with that you will have plenty of work,
at least if you do not want to remove completely Maemo.
Maybe with flasher-3.5 you can flash the whole stuff (I did not try so do not advise) but then you do not have Maemo.
Resizing (first) partition and adding new is described in different places in the internet (by the way, that could be done easily running linux on external card, as well as backup-ing ALL the content),
But booting the new system will have problems.
If the kubuntu's uImages supported boot with multiboot (of Maemo), that could be, probably, easily solved, but it is not a case.

Last edited by Aravinda; 2011-11-11 at 20:55.
 
kralde's Avatar
Posts: 168 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Madrid
#146
I have no problems on deleting maemo =) So I have to download the kernel and the image file and flash it with flasher?
thanks a lot
 
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#147
Look at this page:
http://wiki.meego.com/ARM/N900/Install/EMMC

that may work (at least with some of images works something similar when copying, or better say 'dd-ing' the whole stuff on SD),
but generally those images designed for different devices, that is why so much mess about all the repartitionings, generating uImage and choosing proper boot method.

Last edited by Aravinda; 2011-11-11 at 23:00.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Aravinda For This Useful Post:
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Hungary
#148
Sorry for beeing noob, but I failed to install Ubuntu 11.10 with the newest script. I am using Ubuntu 11.10 x64 and I get this error when the script tries to mount the preinstalled image:

Code:
panzersajt@panzersajt-HP-Pavilion-dv5-Notebook-PC:/media/32D823E7D823A855/n900/n900_ubuntu$ sudo mount -o loop,offset=512 -t auto ubuntu-11.10-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img  /media/source
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
I woud really like to get Ubuntu 11.10 working on my N900.

Last edited by PanzerSajt; 2011-11-12 at 14:49.
 
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#149
PanzerSajt, check first the image you are trying to mount with

sudo fdisk -l -u ubuntu-11.10-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img

it should give 'Start' for the first partition 1, also notice there fs type
I am not quite sure, but maybe you will need to load some modules for that fs type you have in the image (and if the offset is correct -- 512 should be correct for 'Start' from 1-st sector) (maybe it is necessary to load btrfs or ext4 and jb2, like : sudo modprobe btrfs)

Last edited by Aravinda; 2011-11-12 at 17:45.
 
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Hungary
#150
Originally Posted by Aravinda View Post
PanzerSajt, check first the image you are trying to mount with

sudo fdisk -l -u ubuntu-11.10-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img

it should give 'Start' for the first partition 1, also notice there fs type
I am not quite sure, but maybe you will need to load some modules for that fs type you have in the image (and if the offset is correct -- 512 should be correct for 'Start' from 1-st sector) (maybe it is necessary to load btrfs or ext4 and jb2, like : sudo modprobe btrfs)
I tried this command but nothing happened. Right now I am trying to extract the .img file somehow.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20.