Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2016
#71
Hey guys,

I am new to the development of n900 OSs. I had one lying around for years and it took me such time to realize the huge support it has even now.
I have managed to get Kali up and running right now, I have faced some problems too, as of now
1) A user said on this thread to rename the shutdown script file to _shutdown_ . yeah it fixes the rapid shutdown, but after that, i cant even do a regular shutdown
2)For some wierd reason, i cannot resize the existing partion, that is, almost a 1.9 GB (of my 8GB sdcard ). Theres still a 5.something GB left. I tried formatting that 5GB to ext4, but I simply cannot get it to read on the Kali environment. I cant even run apt-get update because it displays "No sufficient space".


I hope Im not the only one facing these issues, and i hope you guys have a fix for these...

Peace
 

The Following User Says Thank You to user_n900 For This Useful Post:
jellyroll's Avatar
Posts: 405 | Thanked: 602 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Netherlands 020
#72
Originally Posted by user_n900 View Post
Hey guys,

I am new to the development of n900 OSs. I had one lying around for years and it took me such time to realize the huge support it has even now.
I have managed to get Kali up and running right now, I have faced some problems too, as of now
1) A user said on this thread to rename the shutdown script file to _shutdown_ . yeah it fixes the rapid shutdown, but after that, i cant even do a regular shutdown
2)For some wierd reason, i cannot resize the existing partion, that is, almost a 1.9 GB (of my 8GB sdcard ). Theres still a 5.something GB left. I tried formatting that 5GB to ext4, but I simply cannot get it to read on the Kali environment. I cant even run apt-get update because it displays "No sufficient space".


I hope Im not the only one facing these issues, and i hope you guys have a fix for these...

Peace
The system cannot find the shutdown file if you rename it into something else.
Have tried to resize the partition by using gparted on a Linux PC?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jellyroll For This Useful Post:
Posts: 171 | Thanked: 173 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Italy
#73
An idea to solve the problem:
1) rename shutdown to __shutdown__
2) make a desktop shortcut that uses halt? (so users won't have to pull out the battery)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to blackjack4it For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2016
#74
Originally Posted by jellyroll View Post
The system cannot find the shutdown file if you rename it into something else.
Have tried to resize the partition by using gparted on a Linux PC?
I tried changing the size, but it doesnt seem to increase. I can move the partition to another location within the drive though.
But when i lauched gparted from the terminal, it showed that the drive was mounted in read-only mode.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to user_n900 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Oct 2016
#75
My fix for shutdown problem....

sudo mv /etc/dbus-1/system.d/org.freedesktop.UPower.conf /root
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to cg132 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 25 times | Joined on Sep 2016
#76
how do i overclock?
 
Posts: 48 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#77
I am curious—what command should I use to check the battery levels?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ebzzry For This Useful Post:
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 25 times | Joined on Sep 2016
#78
Originally Posted by ebzzry View Post
I am curious—what command should I use to check the battery levels?
add a battery notification widget from xfce powermanager

also was anyone able to correct that inverted y axis issue?
I am stuck on it after "dist-upgrade"
I tried xinput_calibration, it detects inverted axis but doesn't change it.
Someone here mentioned some kernel issue?
if anyone can expand on the issue it'll be really great.
My main purpose of this device is using kali so please help me on this.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to racheta For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Oct 2016
#79
Originally Posted by racheta View Post
also was anyone able to correct that inverted y axis issue?
I am stuck on it after "dist-upgrade"
I tried xinput_calibration, it detects inverted axis but doesn't change it.
Someone here mentioned some kernel issue?
if anyone can expand on the issue it'll be really great.
My main purpose of this device is using kali so please help me on this.
I too am in the same spot. So far I've tried:
1) xinput_calibrator with not much luck.
2) I put the output in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
3) Also tried /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-calibration.conf

I don't believe the kernel is at fault. More likely the xorg configuration is wrong. I'm not sure but it looks like some options were added and perhaps others taken away? I'm also not sure if startx is reading ANY of these config files sitting around? Yep.... a whole lot of not sure. If I get a clue I'll let everyone know but for now don't dist-upgrade the xorg packages. Everything was doing okay until those were updated.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cg132 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jan 2017
#80
I've got loading kali untill
No init found. Try passing init= bootarg
(initramfs) [ 78.395477] random: nonblocking pool is initialized
what i gonna do?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Parmaster For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
kali armhf, kali latest, kali n900, kali rolling

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58.