Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 1,200 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#11
Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
Now if I could just work out why I cannot get maps.txt to work...
If somebody facing this problem here could be an easy fix.

To be really sure that it will work it is a good idea to delete the folder which holds the maps.txt. Maybe some corrupt tile data or wrong maps.txt causes this error.

I will add a script which will reset and make a default maps.txt.
Run the script as user, when you have enough rights it deletes the /home/user/.gpxsee folder. Otherwise delete the folder as root.
This will wipe all tiles and map configurations. After this it recreates a working default status. Last line is to be really sure.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
DIR=/home/user/.gpxsee
if [ -d "$DIR" ]; then
rm -rf "$DIR"
fi
mkdir $DIR
map=Map1'	'http://a.tile.openstreetmap.org/\$z/\$x/\$y.png
printf '%s\n' "$map" > "$DIR"/maps.txt
chmod 755 "$DIR"/maps.txt
The attachment could be renamed and set to executable.
After running the script you could test the internet connection and start gpxsee. Hope it helps.
Attached Files
File Type: txt createmap.sh.txt (208 Bytes, 39 views)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 582 | Thanked: 1,229 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#12
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post

- between Map1 and http check if there is really a tabulator.
huh.
more coffee, add the tabulator.

works with openstreetmap,
but opentopo.org seems to be in
"Notmodus-Kacheln/emergency mode"

so maybe that explains the moment.

And,
noting the n900 has no 'mouse',
I discovered that tapping or long-fingering the map area
invokes the menu referred to here:
Code:
With a mouse right click you can change the units (metric/imperial), the axis (distance/time) and you can choose the map source.
All good

(still looking for how to zoom/unzoom the display,
gotta be around here somewhere...)
- see next post
__________________
Three n900s: One for stable working platform,
One for development testing Chopping Onions
One for saltwater immersion power testing resurrected ! parts scavenging

My Mods for Wonko's Advanced Clock Plugin:
ISO8601 clock mod and Momental_IST clock mod

Printing your Email with the N900

Last edited by theonelaw; 2017-01-26 at 06:33.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to theonelaw For This Useful Post:
Posts: 582 | Thanked: 1,229 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#13
On a separate note,

1.
it would be convenient to have this
launch inside a "gpx directory".
Probably just an edit we can play with on the launcher hopefully.

2.
Looking around the .config file, map1`
appears to be set as the default,
which means if someone has a preference to launch a particular map
they might want to set that as the map1 entry.

In restarting,
the previous map used is what is launched on restart.
Nicely done

3.
Looks like the volume buttons handle zoom/unzoom,
but it looks like it needs a wiggle to kick it into play ?

All in all this is an excellent piece of work.
Plays well with gpsrecorder gpx and kml files.
__________________
Three n900s: One for stable working platform,
One for development testing Chopping Onions
One for saltwater immersion power testing resurrected ! parts scavenging

My Mods for Wonko's Advanced Clock Plugin:
ISO8601 clock mod and Momental_IST clock mod

Printing your Email with the N900

Last edited by theonelaw; 2017-01-26 at 07:14. Reason: sp
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to theonelaw For This Useful Post:
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 1,200 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#14
Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
huh.
more coffee, add the tabulator.
coffee helps everytime.

Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post

And,
noting the n900 has no 'mouse',
I discovered that tapping or long-fingering the map area
invokes the menu referred to here:
Before it was in the upper menu I put it on a long tap. But you can use also keyboard short cuts for all functions.

Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
1.
it would be convenient to have this
launch inside a "gpx directory".
Probably just an edit we can play with on the launcher hopefully.
Sorry this I don't get it. You mean when opening a file to have a different default folder?

Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
3.
Looks like the volume buttons handle zoom/unzoom,
but it looks like it needs a wiggle to kick it into play ?
These buttons zooming the map only if the map is active. So tab it once. With a double click it zooms too.

Last edited by Halftux; 2017-01-26 at 08:14.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 582 | Thanked: 1,229 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#15
Sorry this I don't get it. You mean when opening a file to have a different default folder?
Just suggesting perhaps
that it could start inside a folder designated for gpx file
(or, alternatively, ' last previous accessed ')
As opposed to starting from
/home/user every time we 'open' a new gpx.
__________________
Three n900s: One for stable working platform,
One for development testing Chopping Onions
One for saltwater immersion power testing resurrected ! parts scavenging

My Mods for Wonko's Advanced Clock Plugin:
ISO8601 clock mod and Momental_IST clock mod

Printing your Email with the N900
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to theonelaw For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,371 | Thanked: 1,587 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Göteborg, Sweden
#16
Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
Just suggesting perhaps
that it could start inside a folder designated for gpx file
(or, alternatively, ' last previous accessed ')
As opposed to starting from
/home/user every time we 'open' a new gpx.
I concur, would be sensible.

Your fixes work great - I particularly value the ability to use opentopo maps as most of my .gpx trails are in the "wilderness" rather than cities.

Thank you, good stuff!!!

HA
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to handaxe For This Useful Post:
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 1,200 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#17
New version released GPXSee 0.3.8maemo1.

Changelog:
* added hide statusbar [ctrl+s]
* added hide map widget [ctrl+h]
* removed virtual qsplitter
* added autoload last file
* added shortcut for toolbar [ctrl+b]
* fixed poi loading and menu
* updated keyboard controls
* fixed zooming behavior

Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
Just suggesting perhaps
that it could start inside a folder designated for gpx file
(or, alternatively, ' last previous accessed ')
As opposed to starting from
/home/user every time we 'open' a new gpx.
Fixed: It saves the last accessed file and reopen it during next start.


Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
Looks like the volume buttons handle zoom/unzoom,
but it looks like it needs a wiggle to kick it into play ?
Fixed: Now they will work everytime.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,371 | Thanked: 1,587 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Göteborg, Sweden
#18
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Fixed: It saves the last accessed file and reopen it during next start.
This is looking good and working well, thank you.

If I may, I think the more useful function would be to be able to set the folder holding the .gpx files, so that the file selector opens up there immediately, or that the program remembers the folder (that is, no actual setting).

Is there any possibility of being able to open multiple tracks at once - displayed in different colours (as gpxsee already does, I believe if you add another trail)?

Hope this doesn't come across "as the ungrateful public"...

HA

PS: my device is localised to Sweden but the device language is English (UK). GPXsee should use the latter but is taking it's cue from the former.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to handaxe For This Useful Post:
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 1,200 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#19
Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
If I may, I think the more useful function would be to be able to set the folder holding the .gpx files, so that the file selector opens up there immediately, or that the program remembers the folder (that is, no actual setting).
Yes I see should be possible.


Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
Is there any possibility of being able to open multiple tracks at once - displayed in different colours (as gpxsee already does, I believe if you add another trail)?
Gpxsee can display multiple tracks in different colors but atm it can not open them at once.You need to open them seperatly and the statusbar changes the path to numbers of open files.
I guess I need to write a new file selector dialog for that, or does somebody know how to do it with the native dialog.


Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
Hope this doesn't come across "as the ungrateful public"...
I am grateful to read any useful comments or wishes.


Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
PS: my device is localised to Sweden but the device language is English (UK). GPXsee should use the latter but is taking it's cue from the former.
It is the first time I am doing something with languages and never heard of linguist before. So I need to dig into this topic.


@eekkelund Thank you for adding Swedish localisation language. I already feared that this will make some trouble and more work.
edit: sorry it was not you mixed something up it was eson.

Last edited by Halftux; 2017-02-02 at 10:45.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Feb 2017
#20
Hi,
Where are the sources of the Maemo GPXSee port, please? I can not find them on Openrepos.net.
 
Reply

Tags
gpxsee, gpxview, track, viewer

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06.