Now that the N9 has become my main music player (with 64gb's of storage how could it not?) I have come to desire some of the functionality I had in my old Cowon J3 as well as the Rockboxed Sansa Clip+ I use when I work out. Really it comes down to having gapless playback, expanded Codec support, crossfading, multichannel equalizer, etc.... I must say that the N9 has surprised me as a music player in a good way. It drives some of my higher end headphones better than expected. I know there's a thread dedicated to comparing the sound of the N9 to other phones/players and it helped confirmed what my ears already told me. It will never be a Cowon J3 (its hardware + BBE makes that device a beast) but can definitely be improved.

With the above in mind how difficult would it be to port the N900's version of Rockbox or build our own? I'm no developer and just recently migrated over from Android to Maemo6 so forgive my newbness if this is a silly inquiry. Are their others interested in such an endeavor? My semester break is coming up and I plan on seriously looking into this and would love some direction!

--chemical1der

I dug out this thread while looking to see if anyone else had commented along such lines; I'm really quite interested myself, even if just for the sake of gapless playback (which I'm really missing on the N9). If anyone has made any progress towards Rockbox on the N9 (even if just finding out specific issues standing in the way), please let us know, and I'll follow up here myself when I get the chance to set up a proper build environment and try and at least compile the Maemo/N900 version for a Harmattan target.

Posts: 256 | Thanked: 110 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Europe
All we need is a properly written player to be happy with, not particularly rockbox itself. N9 produces a very good sound, especially with some alsamixer tunning. So far there isn't any good player out there. There is a couple of WIP project, though.