Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,699 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#1
Bash 4.1.3 with builtin bash-complete

Download: bash_4.1-3maemo60m7_armel.deb

To make bash default shell:
Code:
chsh -s /bin/bash user
for root:
Code:
chsh -s /bin/bash root
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations

Last edited by coderus; 2013-08-20 at 18:10.
 

The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to coderus For This Useful Post:
Mikkosssss's Avatar
Posts: 645 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Finland
#2
What benefits this update has. (autocomplete doesnt say anything to me)
__________________
────────────────────
Try:My N9 bootvideo
 
Posts: 1,269 | Thanked: 3,961 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Brazil
#3
Originally Posted by coderus View Post
Bash 4.1.3 with builtin bash-complete

Download: bash_4.1-3maemo60m7_armel.deb
What is the difference from "bash_4.1-3+maemo6+0m6_armel.deb" from the Harmattan SDK ? Does it depend on coreutils ?
__________________
Python, C/C++, Qt and CAS developer. For Maemo/MeeGo/Sailfish :
Integral, Derivative, Limit - calculating mathematical integrals, derivatives and limits. SymPy - Computer Algebra System.
MatPlotLib - 2D & 3D plots in Python. IPython - Python interactive shell.
-- My blog about mobile & scientific computing ---
Sailfish : Sony Xperia X, Gemini, Jolla, Jolla C, Jolla Tablet, Nexus 4. Nokia N9, N900, N810.
 
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,699 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#4
well... if you not using bash as default shell you won't see any difference.
but if yes, and you have experience in any other linux distribution on desktop you should see lack of full autocompletion.

a fast example:
Code:
user@RM696:~$ apt- [TAB]
apt-cache             apt-config            apt-extracttemplates  apt-ftparchive        apt-key               apt-sortpkgs          
apt-cdrom             apt-desktop           apt-fast-conf         apt-get               apt-mark              
user@RM696:~$ apt-g [TAB]
user@RM696:~$ apt-get  [TAB]
autoclean        build-dep        check            dist-upgrade     dselect-upgrade  purge            source           upgrade          
autoremove       changelog        clean            download         install          remove           update           
user@RM696:~$ apt-get up [TAB]
update   upgrade  
user@RM696:~$ apt-get upd [TAB]
user@RM696:~$ apt-get update
see? can you repeat this yourself with your current shell?
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to coderus For This Useful Post:
Posts: 17 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Jul 2013 @ Russia
#5
To change sh to bash in default.
Code:
chsh -s /bin/bash
Command works after reboot.

Last edited by Van-ess; 2013-08-06 at 13:55.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Van-ess For This Useful Post:
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,699 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#6
add bash line to /etc/profile for example to load bash.
replacing sh by bash is dangerous on harmattan because of aegis
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to coderus For This Useful Post:
MK99's Avatar
Posts: 644 | Thanked: 480 times | Joined on Jul 2012 @ Finland
#7
They gave me some bash-update.
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/7438/dwhk.png
 
Mikkosssss's Avatar
Posts: 645 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Finland
#8
Originally Posted by MK99 View Post
They gave me some bash-update.
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/7438/dwhk.png
Thats because you have coderush repo...
Its same as download link above.
__________________
────────────────────
Try:My N9 bootvideo
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Apr 2013 @ France
#9
Originally Posted by coderus View Post
add bash line to /etc/profile for example to load bash.


Dumb question: how exactly??
I've tried adding /bin/bash as the last line of my .profile, but I end up with a shell where I have to Ctrl+C before I can type anything.

I'm also tried /bin/bash -l but it isn't working any better.
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#10
just open /etc/profile file and add /bin/bash as the last line. Save this file -> open your terminal and see the differences.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Schturman For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:41.