Active Topics

I'm a complete newb with Linux and have no idea where to start. I went to Meamo.com and checked out the Gaim, but I'm not exactly sure on how to install it. If someone could give me instructions, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Update!: I got it installed.

Last edited by Mysteriouskk; 2007-01-28 at 05:46.

Same boat here...

Go to http://maemo.org/

click on the wiki tab then application repositories under OS2007
Add the maemo and maemo extras repositories to your application manager. (Menu - Tools - Application Manager then Menu - Tools - Application Catalog)
Add the new repositories then refresh the application list. Pick the ones you want.
It's not that hard.

Posts: 21 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ San Jose, CA
woot!,got it installed too!

I followed these instructions

Repository: http://maemo-hackers.org/apt
Distribution: mistral
Component: main

Repository: http://repository.maemo.org
Distribution: mistral
Component: non-free

Make sure you download
maemo-gaim
maemo-gaim-data
maemo-gaim-locale-[whatever language you want to use]
maemo-gaim-protocol-[protocols you want to use]

The password is case sensitive, so make sure you enter it correctly on the keyboard of your N800.

Last edited by Beefy6969; 2007-01-29 at 03:51.

Originally Posted by BanditRider View Post
Go to http://maemo.org/

click on the wiki tab then application repositories under OS2007
Add the maemo and maemo extras repositories to your application manager. (Menu - Tools - Application Manager then Menu - Tools - Application Catalog)
Add the new repositories then refresh the application list. Pick the ones you want.
It's not that hard.
OK I did that, and everything seemed to go ok, but now whenever I try to one click install something it says "Unable to refresh list, last refreshed list is shown" and the install fails.

Wots up wi' dat?