So I'm a decent programmer myself, but with no experience with Maemo yet combined with no experience with the technical side of VPN or kernel patching, this is not something I want to attempt coding...

My school/work uses PPtP and IPSEC VPN (see http://kb.iu.edu/data/ajrq.html )

What I really want is a simple GUI that allows me to enter the required name/pass/key options and will connect using the above protocol and allow me to use my N800 @ the office.

I really have little knowledge on how big of an undertaking this is, but I know it could definitely benefit the community if something like this happened and I'd be willing to put up some cash to someone who was able to get it working (and I assume some others would do the same).

I'm not talking about owning the rights or anything gross and non-opensource friendly. Just a small reward for someone who's willing to use their valuble time to write some software they wouldn't normally take the time to write perhaps.

If you think you might be able to do this, or perhaps know some more info on the technical limitations of the N800 hardware to allow this, or even if you want to offer up some money yourself, please post here!

If it doesn't work out, at least I gave my attempt to make it happen

Thanks guys!

There is desktop linux support for PPtP (the MS variant) with tools, these could probably be ported to the N800. The kernel has the PPtP support too, but this is possibly not enabled in the N800 version so you would have to build your own.

There is however OpenVPN available already, and where I work we switched from PPtP to OpenVPN and thus that's where my interest is so unfortunately I'm not raising to the challenge of getting PPtP to work -- I'm more interested in getting the OpenVPN support integrated into the network applet, as now it's a hassle to use.