Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 173 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ London, UK
#1
Is it possible to make skypeout calls (voip style) over wifi at all? I.e. via the skype UI on the n9.

The London underground now has wifi and I have skype credit but no sip account*. My n950 doesn't have the skype UI so I used mc-tool and can enable my availability and call the skype call testing service. I tried adding the n9 repo temporarily to install skype's ui but this threw up 100s of package updates, probably because of PR1.3 - could somebody send me their cached .deb files if skypeout is actually possible? Thanks.

Oh, also I installed QuickCall, but this simply does not seem to make use of skype.

*Alternatively, can anyone recommend a good (okay, cheap) voip/sip provider?
 
Posts: 173 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ London, UK
#2
Does anyone have a copy of the debs?
 
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 39 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#3
You can! Don't you just have to go to Phone, then select "Skype" on the topbar?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fsx For This Useful Post:
Posts: 173 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ London, UK
#4
Ahh thanks. It definitely does look like the phone can, thanks. I found a picture here: http://bbs.dospy.com/viewthread.php?...4#pid189631241

It also had a link to a .deb which I've ar/tar extracted to see if it's an exploit (it seems safe). It also contains .conf files which look like they set name-value pairs which might be all I need to tweak in mc-tool to make the built in phone app provide that dropdown. I could always add users and top-up credit on other devices (or reboot to nitdroid, where the mic doesn't work for skype calls).

So the n950 DOESN'T just have a skype option, the apt repo does not contain the skype UI like the n9. In answer to your quite reasonable question at the end
 
Posts: 173 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ London, UK
#5
Okay dpkg -i _account-plugin-skype_0.85+0m6_armel.deb worked!

I can't see any difference between mc-tool show spirit/skype/myusername0 and the one I created via this new plugin to the Account app which ended up as spirit/skype/myusername1

So I guess this was the only easy way to get this working. I'll be sure to test this works when I have no gsm signal
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:16.