Reply
Thread Tools
raandoom's Avatar
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 131 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ Russia, Moscow area
#51
There is a x86 and x64 versions of logo_compress.elf (v.1.1). My test logos compressed with them are correct. Try it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip logo_compress.elf.x86.x64.zip (6.7 KB, 122 views)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to raandoom For This Useful Post:
Sandeep's Avatar
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Bangalore
#52
Well, this is a little embarrassing.. I couldn't get the "logo.bin" sized down to 6646 bytes. I tried many ways to do it.
If anyone nice there could you convert the attached image into the required size please??

Much thanks.
Attached Images
 
 
Posts: 539 | Thanked: 518 times | Joined on May 2010 @ nanaurbusiness
#53
Originally Posted by Sandeep View Post
Well, this is a little embarrassing.. I couldn't get the "logo.bin" sized down to 6646 bytes. I tried many ways to do it.
If anyone nice there could you convert the attached image into the required size please??

Much thanks.
Here you go
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...7&postcount=28



J4ZZ
__________________

N900 ~ $ make me a sandwich
-bash: no, make it yourself
N900 ~ $ sudo make me a sandwich
-bash: ok then...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to J4ZZ For This Useful Post:
raandoom's Avatar
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 131 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ Russia, Moscow area
#54
I got a little updated the elf Now let it call version 1.2. What's new:

- No more hardcoded names of files (i am about "rawbmp.bin" and "logo.bin"). Now you must run elf with name of file at input. Like this:
Code:
./logo_compress.elf filename
Your compressed file will be in file named "filename.out".

- Now you can don't cut of the header of your *.bmp file. Elf know where image started in your file. But you must say to elf that your file have a header by using key "-h" at the end of command Like this:
Code:
./logo_compress.elf filename -h
There are versions for ARM, x86 and x64 in attached archive.

That's all for this moment, thanks. I hope it will be useful for someone
Attached Files
File Type: zip logo_compress.elf.v.1.2.zip (11.4 KB, 123 views)
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to raandoom For This Useful Post:
Posts: 838 | Thanked: 3,384 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#55
Originally Posted by raandoom View Post
There are versions for ARM, x86 and x64 in attached archive.
And where is source code?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AapoRantalainen For This Useful Post:
raandoom's Avatar
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 131 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ Russia, Moscow area
#56
AapoRantalainen, i think my code is too ugly for showing it
But ok, you can get source here.
UPD: i add some comments, hope it will help to understand some moments.

Last edited by raandoom; 2012-08-04 at 08:49.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to raandoom For This Useful Post:
raandoom's Avatar
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 131 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ Russia, Moscow area
#57
Finally i finished it At a snail's pace, step by step, but GUI for changing boot logo was finished.

Yes, a lot of time has passed and maybe it is too late for this application, but i gained experience and maybe someone be happy

Now there is no need to carefully choose images and compress it with elf, and then count its sizes, and... No need for that.
All what you need for changing your boot screen is:

1. Choose background color
You can choose color with 4 ways (why not? ):
a) write 24-bit color in dec, like this: [180] [180] [180]
b) write 24-bit color in hex, like this: 0xAABBCC
c) write 16-bit color in hex, like this: 0xABCD
d) using standart ColorDialog from Qt

2. Choose images
Images must be BMP images with 16-bit or 24-bit color.
Don't worry, if you choose wrong image - application let you know about this

3. Preview
You can see how your boot screen will looks like by pressing "Preview".

4. Applying changes
For applying changes you need to press "Apply". This will open log window.
Before bootloader will be patched application need to be sure that chosen images can be successfully written to bootloader (limits for compressed image size can't be canceled). You need to press "Check" for checking all, after this some information about chosen options will be printed to log. If application find some errors, it will not allow you to flash your bootloader before errors reasons will be fixed.
If all test was successfuly passed, you can flash your images and bootloader by pressing "Patch".

Next, you must wait a few seconds for message about successful flashing, and relax

By the way, you don't need to patch all options in one time. You can choose what you want to patch by clicking checkboxes in top left corner.

p.s. Icon a little ugly, but it is icon

UPD: package returned to post. About allowed image width and height: bootloader has something, that don't work correct with some image sizes. I cant find a clear pattern for incorrect image width and height.

But, just in case, i add limits for minimal image size (width and height): if image has width and/or height less than default image, application will not allow you to select this image.
For fan of experiments this option can be disabled

Current version: 1.0.1
Changes:
- fixed GUI blinking
- left buttons states changed from enabled/disabled to checked/unchecked
- and something important: added action to menu bar for disabling image size limitations

p.s.: you can take a look on text file with logo sizes that i tried, with the results. Maybe someone will find pattern for incorrect image width and height
And one more: maybe will be better if you post your results (false or success) with image
sizes, but only if your image has width or height less than default.
Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: deb n900-bootlogo-changer_1_0_1_armel.deb (56.9 KB, 562 views)

Last edited by raandoom; 2013-02-14 at 23:12.
 

The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to raandoom For This Useful Post:
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 49 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Russia, Moscow
#58
Originally Posted by raandoom View Post
Finally i finished it
Holy sh~ !
We've been talking about it just a year ago
Congratulations!


----
updated the post fyi

Last edited by Xlab; 2013-02-06 at 22:19.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Xlab For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,994 | Thanked: 3,342 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ N900: Battery low. N950: torx 4 re-used once and fine; SIM port torn apart
#59
Thank you. What happens with the user interface when chosen image is too large, and 'tap screen to close preview' is no longer seen? The only possible action is to close the window?
Best wishes.
 
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#60
Thanks for this. I already changed the logo using the scripts, but the next occasion I will try it by using your app.

What is really confusing, is that the four top buttons on the right side are made looking disabled, but in fact they are not. The "Set default" button next to them looks exactly the same, but this button is really disabled by default.

If you want to highlight the button that has been picked, it would be better to make the button text bold for example (easier than to change it into tab-groups I guess). But make it look somewhat different then a disabled button is my personal opinion
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ade For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
nolo bootloader, patch

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:44.