Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ USA
#1
A bug in the wpa2 protocol was found: https://www.krackattacks.com/
It looks like for other Linux (and android), wpa_supplicant can be changed to fix this bug, but it looks like something else does the WPA2 (is it handled within ICd2 or within the driver?)

Are w stuck without a patch?

Fortunately if you run https over WPA2 you'll still be fine, but I think I need a new set of certificates...

Last edited by eccerr0r; 2017-10-18 at 19:47. Reason: incorrect title
 

The Following User Says Thank You to eccerr0r For This Useful Post:
Posts: 474 | Thanked: 2,335 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#2
Digging into the WiFi stack and figuring out what it will take to replace it with wpa_supplicant is actually on my to-do list.
 

The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to jonwil For This Useful Post:
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ USA
#3
However would using wpa_supplicant affect using the device as a phone, to also select 2G/3G?

It seems that wpa_supplicant has been available for n900 but it's not commonly used.
 
Community Council | Posts: 528 | Thanked: 720 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Mbabane
#4
wpa_supplicant doesn't affect modem (2G/3G) in any way.

you can use wpa_supplicant on N900 (if you compile fixed version) just fine. However there are a few caveats in connection with how N900 handles connections and notifying applications of the availability of a connection.

Long story short: you need to stop wlancond so that wpa_supplicant can access the wlan0 interface. then you also need to use a 'dummy' network connection on the connection selection ui.

also, you need to do your own power management
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sicelo For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
key reinsertion, krack, security, wireless

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:09.