Hi all

I'm an N800 newbie - I've had it for about a month now. Generally, I find it to be a lot of fun. However, my main reason for buying it - for web browsing - drives my crazy. I hate the way the DPad navigates websites, and I've now reverted back to using my Nokia 6120c phone instead (even though it only has a 2 inch screen!)

I know this has been discussed somewhere previously, because I remember reading it, but I have just spent the last hour trying to find it without much luck. So sorry for reposting.

Anyway, I prefer to use the Dpad, because the stylus is difficult to use on a bus (too many bumps on the road!). However, the up/down clicks on the DPad follows links rather than scrolling up/down. I know you can hold the button down, but I find this difficult to control as it seems to get stuck sometimes and scrolls to the bottom of the page.

So I'm looking for either an alternate browser, or a solution to the DPad navigation problem. I found a possible solution here:

https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2423

But typing in the about:config line doesn't seem to change anything (although I get confirmation that the setting has changed). There is also a package on that site that can be installed - will that do what I'm wanting?

Any ideas?
Many thanks

Hmm, this works for me:
1) open with the broweser the page "about:config"
2) write in the field Name: "snav.enabled"
3) write in the field Value: "false"
4) hit "Set Preference"

I just found this yesterday:

http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...4&postcount=11

If you want it to do a whole page-down rather than moving a few lines, you can change the commands to 'cmd_scrollPageDown', etc.

Posts: 609 | Thanked: 232 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ the end of my rope
Yes, install the package. Worked great for me.