Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
horus's Avatar
Posts: 190 | Thanked: 101 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#1
I've search but can't find much. Does the N900 have an internal battery for time / settings functionality like on a pc?

My e65 doesn't, but a few of my friends phones do.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to horus For This Useful Post:
unkno's Avatar
Posts: 266 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#2
As far as I know, most, if not all, modern phones have a small battery internally to maintain date/time/settings (similar to how PCs have a cmos battery to keep BIOS and time settings). Otherwise, every time you take out the battery or when your battery drains completely, the time/date (and possibly settings if it isn't saved onto memory) are wiped.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to unkno For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,308 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#3
More likely to have a capacitor to store the time on battery changes, though I'm not an expert.

Certainly there's no way to change any purported backup battery, which makes me think there is probably not one.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 119 | Thanked: 110 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Prague
#4
on my htc wizard, there probably is a backup battery - however now, after a few years of phone's life, it's depleted (either that, or the capacitor went dead somehow) and each time the battery is taken out, clock is reset to factory original value.. quite annoying - the capacitor would be much more useful, if it lasted a hours, that is...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to andree For This Useful Post:
horus's Avatar
Posts: 190 | Thanked: 101 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#5
Yeah it is annoying. My E65 never had one, pain if you have multiple batteries
 

The Following User Says Thank You to horus For This Useful Post:
icebox's Avatar
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 119 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ /dev/null
#6
Some do, some don't: my wife's old 7610 didn't.

There's an easy way to find out: pop out the battery out of an n900, leave it 30s and put it back - if the clock's accurate it has at least a capacitor.
That of course, if you can live with your new and shiny n900 off for 30 secs.
__________________
--

Tech blog: http://www.sgvulcan.com/
Photos: http://500px.com/silviuvulcan
@silviuvulcan on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/silviuvulcan

- Putting a man on the Moon was often quoted as being our greatest achievement.
- 40 years later, putting a man on the Moon is still quoted as being our greatest achievement
 

The Following User Says Thank You to icebox For This Useful Post:
Posts: 258 | Thanked: 144 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Edinburgh
#7
yeah id love to know this, and will be one of the first tests i do, as my Axim resets every time i change a battery and its a real pain.
I really am not worried about bettery life if you can change battery without issues.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to cgarvie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5,335 | Thanked: 8,182 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Pennsylvania, USA
#8
Originally Posted by horus View Post
Does the N900 have an internal battery for time / settings functionality like on a pc?
The N900 has a button cell battery. See the second photo on the first page (PDF link) near the top center.
__________________
maemo.org profile
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to sjgadsby For This Useful Post:
pelago's Avatar
Posts: 2,119 | Thanked: 1,519 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Oxford, UK
#9
Originally Posted by sjgadsby View Post
The N900 has a button cell battery. See the second photo on the first page (PDF link) near the top center.
Thanks. Obviously not user-changeable, so it will eventually die, but hopefully not for a few years yet.

Also note that the N900 can automatically update its clock from the network, presumably via NTP. Everything else is stored in flash memory that doesn't need a battery.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pelago For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5,335 | Thanked: 8,182 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Pennsylvania, USA
#10
Originally Posted by pelago View Post
Also note that the N900 can automatically update its clock from the network, presumably via NTP.
With out-of-the-box software, the N900 can automatically set its clock via information from the cell provider, like most (all?) phones. Network time protocol daemon (ntpd) is separate download from Extras/Extras-testing (I haven't checked which), but should be an easy one. It was always install-and-go on previous Maemo devices, and I don't expect that's changed with Maemo 5.
__________________
maemo.org profile

Last edited by sjgadsby; 2009-11-19 at 15:10. Reason: initially left out a needed definite article
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sjgadsby For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:04.