Reply
Thread Tools
jd4200's Avatar
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 424 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ England
#31
Originally Posted by Morpog View Post
It can't find package patch when trying to apt-get install patch........
Ah, I forgot I added the SDK repository.

Either download and install
http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/pool/...+0m6_armel.deb

Or, add the following to: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sdk.list
Code:
deb http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/ harmattan/sdk free non-free
And run apt-get update, apt-get install patch
__________________
BTC:
19ePiXZUdxqNAq9tStLzZV4dduSQeGPJzj
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jd4200 For This Useful Post:
Morpog's Avatar
Posts: 956 | Thanked: 2,628 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#32
Your patch works great!
Couldn't install the deb, so I added the SDK repository via MeeCatalog (easier to add and remove in there).
 
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ US
#33
Great work to sony123 for the discovery and Arie for the assistance to others.

Last edited by solstice88; 2012-07-09 at 15:02. Reason: grammer
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to solstice88 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 307 | Thanked: 1,460 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Switzerland
#34
It's funny how we've all got used to this intentional crippling by nokia management. Just imagine what these guys will be able to deliver now they're free of it.
 
Posts: 650 | Thanked: 619 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#35
Originally Posted by colin.stephane View Post
I continue thinking a unified diff patch file was the best to keep modifications safe with easy possibility to reverse ...

A++
Thanks for the suggestion. Sorry that I don't know anything about patch so I misunderstood what you suggested. I have edited the first post to include the patch provided by jd4200.

Last edited by sony123; 2012-07-09 at 18:49.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sony123 For This Useful Post:
biatch0's Avatar
Posts: 226 | Thanked: 195 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Malaysia
#36
Made the changes to my files with the patch... No errors...

Unfortunately, it appears that Nokia Maps doesn't have Live Traffic for Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia yet.

Possibly I'm doing something wrong since all the traffic options appear but the traffic itself just doesn't load!!!

EDIT: Confirmed. No traffic info for Malaysia at this point. Traffic for Netherlands and USA load perfectly.

Last edited by biatch0; 2012-07-10 at 03:26.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to biatch0 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 149 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Slovenia, Ljubljana
#37
Originally Posted by biatch0 View Post
Made the changes to my files with the patch... No errors...

Unfortunately, it appears that Nokia Maps doesn't have Live Traffic for Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia yet.

Possibly I'm doing something wrong since all the traffic options appear but the traffic itself just doesn't load!!!

EDIT: Confirmed. No traffic info for Malaysia at this point. Traffic for Netherlands and USA load perfectly.
Can you check for Slovenia if possible?
(I like to know if it's worth the trouble..)
 
Posts: 1,067 | Thanked: 313 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ USA
#38
Originally Posted by jd4200 View Post
Thanks sony123, a real nice find.

Anyway, here's a patch to take away the tedious work. Tested and works fine.

Automatic method:
Download this shell script, rename it to maps.sh
Download this patch, rename it to traffic.patch

Place them both in the same directory on the N9 and, as root, cd to where you copied them and run
Code:
sh ./maps.sh
Manual method:
*Download this patch, rename it to traffic.patch

*Install the patch program:
Code:
apt-get install patch
If it tells you it can't find the file, you don't have Nokia's SDK repository enabled, so either:
use the app. MeeCatalog to enable the SDK repository, or add the following to: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sdk.list
Code:
deb http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/ harmattan/sdk free non-free
After either, run apt-get update && apt-get install patch

*Make a backup of the original files.
Code:
 cp -r /usr/lib/drive-qml/ /home/user/
*Do a test run first with:
Code:
patch --dry-run -p0 -i traffic.patch
*Only if no errors are displayed then you can safely modify the files with:
Code:
patch -p0 -i traffic.patch
I Seem to get can't open patch, permission denied.


Any ideas?
 
Posts: 771 | Thanked: 393 times | Joined on Feb 2012
#39
nice finding OP, wil try this out!
 
jd4200's Avatar
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 424 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ England
#40
Originally Posted by ceroberts75 View Post
I Seem to get can't open patch, permission denied.
Any ideas?
Try "chmod 777 traffic.patch" as both a normal user and root. (Granting permissions on the N9 are a bit dodgy, from a root perspective).
Then, as root, re-running "sh traffic.sh"
__________________
BTC:
19ePiXZUdxqNAq9tStLzZV4dduSQeGPJzj
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:49.