http://mynokiablog.com/2010/09/26/ra...-the-iphone-4/

The link is actually Nokia Blog's response to an article listing 5 (rather daft reasons) the N8 will not beat the iphone 4 but the 5 reasons are quoted in Nokia Blog's response.

I am not a computer techie so do not know much about these benchmark testings but the N8 numbers seem rather high compared to the ipad. Does that mean the N8's CPU performance is much higher than those of the ipad?

Wait I thought the N8 wasn't even in the same price range?

Edit: Okay it mentions that the iPhone 4 is circa 200 subsidized while the N8 is 549 unsubsidized. I don't get how that is a valid point.

Posts: 337 | Thanked: 192 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Atlanta
Originally Posted by etuoyo View Post
http://mynokiablog.com/2010/09/26/ra...-the-iphone-4/

The link is actually Nokia Blog's response to an article listing 5 (rather daft reasons) the N8 will not beat the iphone 4 but the 5 reasons are quoted in Nokia Blog's response.

I am not a computer techie so do not know much about these benchmark testings but the N8 numbers seem rather high compared to the ipad. Does that mean the N8's CPU performance is much higher than those of the ipad?
The benchmarks represent the GPU, which the original MSNBC article fails to mention. The N8's GPU is very powerful and Symbian^3 is GPU accelerated so the load is on the GPU. Also, the Symbian OS is a lightweight (code base optimized over many years) OS that does not require a high freqency CPU in the firstplace.