I have just tested the iphone. Why on earth should I not prefer iPhone over n800? (I do own an n800)

It's much faster (700mhz - feels 5 times faster), much better UI, smaller, incl GSM, have all the features as n800, the iPhone can perform all what the n800 can do...

1) Doesn't support flash
2) no expansion memory slot
3) keyboard is difficult to use
4) Need to send your phone away for a battery change
5) No comparison in screen size or resolution ( Nokia blows apple out of the park)

I am a newbie to linux and was having the same debate as you however after owning a Nokia N810 for a little less then a week I am in love with this thing. As far as gps, you can always get a bluetooth puck like freedom offers or Nokia sells the GPS receiver. My friend just returned his touch and bought an N810 after showing him mine . Keep in mind the iphone is a phone where the tablet is a pintsized PC! Hope this helps!

Brian

Originally Posted by speedtriple View Post
I have just tested the iphone. Why on earth should I not prefer iPhone over n800? (I do own an n800)

It's much faster (700mhz - feels 5 times faster), much better UI, smaller, incl GSM, have all the features as n800, the iPhone can perform all what the n800 can do...

Had you spent a minute doing a search instead of wetting yourself in excitement, you would have discovered that this has been discussed to death already. There was no need to start yet another thread on the subject.

R.
==

I don't know you, so I have no idea why you shouldn't prefer the iPhone

I wanted a device with a higher resolution display (love crisp, itty bitty fonts, hate zooming), expandable memory, Linux, USB, real third party support, etc. I don't care about cellular, certainly don't want to be tied to any cellular contract for two years, and the $200 N800 price tag is nice, too.

For me the question is the opposite, but I can understand why others would want one, and I'd also be more than happy to take one as a gift