Active Topics

Posts: 1,359 | Thanked: 717 times | Joined on May 2009 @ ...standing right behind you...
So I was listening to the latest episode of The Linux Actionshow podcast today (Season 10, episode 9) and even though I am far from a Linux expert I found the following interesting e I want to see if I was even close to understand what was said

Based on their discussion, about the NITs, they said that Freemantle is the operating layer of the next NIT - but after that it will not be continued as after that Nokia is continuing with QT.

Does that mean that Freemantle in essence is being developed to run on N900 - and that's it?
AutoScan, Diablo5 Theme, Dialcentral, DragLock, EmelFM2, FlipClock, gPodder, Headphoned, Knots 2, Maemo Mapper, mPlayer, openNTPD, OpenSSH, Panucci, Personal Launcher, QuickNote, Seqretary, SlideLock, Telescope, YellowNotes

The Following User Says Thank You to silvermountain For This Useful Post:
Posts: 415 | Thanked: 732 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Finland
to my understanding the underlaying libraries won't be changed, so I wouldn't call it DOA.

Posts: 1,359 | Thanked: 717 times | Joined on May 2009 @ ...standing right behind you...
Originally Posted by timoph View Post
to my understanding the underlaying libraries won't be changed, so I wouldn't call it DOA.
I think you're right but my understanding is that...uh..correct me if I'm wrong..is that Freemantle is not really an OS in the traditional sense but rather a presentation-layer running ontop of GTK developed apps.

What I gathered from listening to the show is that N900 is the only device that will use this presentation-layer (in much lack of a better word) and that Nokia is moving to QT and a different presentation layer.

I do believe though, to make things even more complicated [for me] that items developed in GTK or QT will still run on the later devices and 'all' that is different is that Freemantle will not be there.

Am I kinda-sorta understanding it correctly?