Notices

I have been using the following two programs that I am sure would be useful for many if not most folks. I am not a programmer, so can't port it but since both programs are written in (on?) QT, I presume it is possible to port them to maemo, right? Could somebody with know-how take a look at both.

Golden Dict (the stardict killer!, the perfect dictionary program under constant heavy development, the developer is amazing)

http://goldendict.berlios.de/

toMOTko (a flashcard application for Zaurus, Windows, Linux) I have been using this app on my Z for about three years now. I can't live without it. Learning words has not been easier.

http://tomotko.sourceforge.net/

The Following User Says Thank You to HOKIR For This Useful Post:
I'm working on goldendict

The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to mikkov For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by mikkov View Post
I'm working on goldendict
I am just curious, have you just started or you have already been working on it for a while? I wonder how known Golden Dict is in the community.

BTW, most of the discussion on the GoldenDict forum is in Russian; however, the developer is fluent in English. If you need help with the Russian text on that forum you can ask me.

Last edited by HOKIR; 2009-06-04 at 19:43.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to HOKIR For This Useful Post:
This is the first time I heard of it

But it seems pretty cool and it appears to work even without any changes to source. I haven't tried it yet with the device though

It is cool. It does not have its own format; however it supports most of the existing popular formats (there are potentially more supported formats in the future, like XDXF, EPWING). This gives access to thousands of available dictionaries.

There are a bunch of features under the hood; however, you have to hunt for their description on the forum because there is no user documentation yet.

Last edited by HOKIR; 2009-06-04 at 20:07.