I changed wlan transmission power from 100mw to 10mw, and connection manager shows same amount of notches as usual? What's the difference between these two settings, has anyone noticed?

Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
And where do you change the setting?

Control panel - connectivity - connections - edit - 3* next - advanced - other - wlan transmission power

Thanks, I have missed the "Advanced" button
And to answer your question, the meter should measure the signal strength of the access point you are trying to connect to. The option you showed me changes how strong signal will use nokia itself.

Thanks for answer. I haven't noticed any differences in distance capabilities, so should I use lower value in order to save batteries?

I wish I knew The common sense says "yes", but I am not a techie to know whether it will make any real difference.
IMHO these miliwats has almost nothing to do with the amount of power spent by the wifi part itself. (Something like some speakers are marketed as having output power 1400wats but from electric socket they take 100wats)

Originally Posted by Mythic
IMHO these miliwats has almost nothing to do with the amount of power spent by the wifi part itself. (Something like some speakers are marketed as having output power 1400wats but from electric socket they take 100wats)
The 1400 watt rating would be a peak output, not average.

That power rating will definitely have an impact on battery life, though I'm not sure how much. I've had my 770 on 10mW wifi for 2h:40min and it hasn't dropped a single bar of battery level. I haven't used it a huge amount for other stuff, but it has been on IRC the whole time.

Radio output power really does have an impact on battery consumption - that's why bluetooth on most small devices only reaches 10m, whereas desktop interfaces can reach 100m.