I have a few suggestions for the wiki:

- Make an obvious "add a page" link. How does one add a page the Wiki? I couldn't figure it out.

- Clean up the main page: I think the Wiki would be more inviting and easier to navigate if the main page only showed links to the main sections and "recently updated", and had all sub-sections and content on seperate pages, including the intro and 'how to participate" etc. because my guess is that the majority of people use the wiki for troubleshooting, not editing.

- Change the font color: the mintgreen font on white background is hard to read

Last edited by iamthewalrus; 2008-01-02 at 13:45.

Posts: 794 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ /Canada/Ontario/GTA
I agree. The wiki needs an overhaul. Having recently added a couple of entries on it, I can attest to the fact that it's not intuitive. Granted, my impression is jaded by the fact that I am a novice wiki-writer. It's not so hard to reply to posts in the forums and create new threads (after carefully searching, of course )... so something better in the wiki ought to be possible.

Recent discussions for more user control, sparked by the 'look at me thread', got me into the wiki-ing mood. I would welcome an overhaul of the wiki. Perhaps something we should bring to Reggie's attention.

I'm not familiar with ITT's wiki (I really prefer Mediawiki), but the general reason for not having an 'add page' link in a wiki is because that tends to add pages with no links to them (i.e. people won't find them - they just exist).

Instead, (at least in Mediawiki and some others I've used) you create a new page by, from an existing page, adding a keyword (in whatever format the type of wiki uses) which is also a link. Then just visit your newly-updated page and click on that link. Because the page doesn't exist (these are the links showing up in red on e.g. Wikipedia) a new one will be created, and you can start editing it right away.