Posts: 999 | Thanked: 1,117 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ earth?
My day job is a systems/web Developer and often use the principles of multi-tier design.

E.g. Database layer, Business Logic layer and Presentation layer.

Assuming each layer can be an independant library, would this be a "good" design for a mobile app or will the overhead of "shuttling" data between each layer be too cpu/memory consuming.

The main reason I am asking this question is that I am writing some software on the n900 but also want it available on my Linux desktop. At some point I will be uploading the data to a website.

Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
Originally Posted by johnel View Post
Assuming each layer can be an independant library, would this be a "good" design for a mobile app or will the overhead of "shuttling" data between each layer be too cpu/memory consuming.
The main reason I am asking this question is that I am writing some software on the n900 but also want it available on my Linux desktop. At some point I will be uploading the data to a website.
IMHO,
being modular will also help reusability.
there is certainly no noticable lag in dynamically linking libs.
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.”

Last edited by krk969; 2010-05-17 at 08:56.

The Following User Says Thank You to krk969 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 146 | Thanked: 76 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Poland
You should not worry about mem/cpu problem until you encouter it. Although you should always have in mind.

So in my opinion this is a "good design".

With sufficient need (when the need arises), you can stray from this design.

The Following User Says Thank You to Robb For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,716 | Thanked: 3,007 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Warsaw, Poland
In context of Maemo, it certainly is good design.