Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 248 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Birmingham
#111
Originally Posted by qole View Post
ARGH. I need to upload yet another version; that one's broken, too.

Wait and install 0.9.35-3fremantle1...

EDIT: Extras-devel is fixed, new version installs properly
0.9.35-3fremantle1 installed and works great, haven't found anything wrong yet

Having to use "fix LXDE keyboard" is fine, just have to remember to do it before returning to easy debian

(Tip: It's a pretty obvious one but I have noticed that leaving applications minimised instead of closing them works a lot better. Most of the slowness comes from actually opening programs not from running them --> at least thats the case with me)
 
Posts: 87 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#112
After running the latest version I started LXDE, and tried to run iceweasel. Unfortunately no connection could be established.
I closed LXDE and tried to use MicroB, now it doesn't conenct anymore to the internet (no server found). although wireless and UMTS work and are connected. It seems some ports are unavailable, but as a noob I do not have a clue how to reopen them.
I tried closing Debian, but this did not help too.
Please help
 
Posts: 755 | Thanked: 406 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ UK
#113
Hey Qole

The unmount order of the closechroot script is leaving behind a few points that it can't unmount.

After you've played with the chroot and closed it, if you do a df you get

Code:
 $ df
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
... more stuff here ...
tmpfs                    64.0M      4.0k     64.0M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p2            2.0G    268.9M      1.6G  14% /home
/dev/mmcblk0p1           27.0G     15.7G     11.3G  58% /home/user/MyDocs
df: /.debian/dev/pts: No such file or directory
df: /.debian/home/user/MyDocs: No such file or directory
df: /.debian/dev/pts: No such file or directory
df: /.debian/home/user/MyDocs: No such file or directory
It isn't really a major problem, but it can be fixed as below.

Code:
#Any external mounts
umount -l "$CHROOT/home/user/MyDocs"
umount -l "$CHROOT/dev/pts"
MNTD=`cat /proc/mounts | grep " $CHROOT/" | awk '{print $2}'`
for MDRV in $MNTD ; do
  echo "unmounting $MDRV"
  umount -l "$MDRV"
done
Thanks for the Easy Debian stuff!

Edit: I've just noticed that Murat pointed this out on page 10 too.

Last edited by codeMonkey; 2009-12-24 at 22:31.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to codeMonkey For This Useful Post:
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Norway
#114
I have nordic keyboard on my n900 and in debbie console it works well now. After follow the tips from Qole

But in LXDE i still got american layout. It's not a big problem since most keys are the same.
Where is the keyboard-settings for LXDE. Normally I just use xorg.conf, but in chroot debbie I don't got a xorg.conf

Is it safe to do an apt-get update and apt-get upgrade on this distribution?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#115
hstende: try "sudo synchroot" after opening the chroot, and see if that fixes your keyboard map.

also: openoffice seems to be broken in the current Debian testing so don't upgrade now.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#116
Also, in my hands Gnumeric can be started only from the lxde graphic interface, while doesn't start from the hildon xterm as "debbie gnumeric" (loops dbus requests). Both from Squeeze and Lenny.
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Norway
#117
I tried syncroot, but now I got another problem.
When I try to start LXDE, it start up and I push OK for the focus, but the screen with "Ctrl-back to return to dashboard" never finish.

In top I see :
772 648 root S < 9680 3.9 31.7 /usr/bin/Xorg -logfile /tmp/Xorg.0.log -logverbose 1 -nolisten tcp -noreset -s 0
729 1 root S 6704 2.7 5.4 /usr/sbin/ohmd --no-daemon
9437 9411 user R 4524 1.8 0.5 /usr/bin/Xephyr :1 -screen 800x480 -br -ac
19815 6062 root R 740 0.3 0.5 top
7540 7529 user R 1156 0.4 0.3 /bin/sh /usr/bin/xephfocus
10 2 root SW 0 0.0 0.3 [omap2_mcspi]
1061 935 user S 14832 6.0 0.2 /usr/bin/hildon-desktop
 
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#118
@hstende: from some strange reason, it's the same thing that happened to me after I tried to change the default locale with 'dpkg-reconfigure locales'.
Every time I tried the result was that lxde stuck on the initial screen as you reported.
I can't imagine why. By now, I'm using the latest Qole's rootfs without any localization (told you why) or updating (which breaks openoffice.org). I've only installed some other package I like.
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#119
Wow. That's frustrating, guys. I don't know what to suggest, since I'm not a localization expert...

Any extra console information if you start LXDE from the terminal using "debbie xephwm5" ? I know that Xephyr complains a lot about fonts and stuff, but do you see any LXDE errors?
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#120
@qole: I'll prepare a new fs, localize it, and let you know.

EDIT: as it happens (to me, too often ), the bug wasn't repeatable. I used Qole's last rootfs, started lxde from it, then logged out, did localization, and now after localization lxde restarts without problems.

Some days ago, I tried with two different rootfs', and localization stopped lxde working.

Ok, doesn't matter, just a false alarm. I'm sorry for the inconvenience, though
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis


Last edited by debernardis; 2009-12-31 at 08:00.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to debernardis For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:55.