Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#51
i have accidentally upgraded sensorfw-qt5 twice now, thus breaking gyro/accel and prox sensors (and by extension, auto-rotation), and each time not noticing until much later that all my photos are portrait..

in case someone else has done so:
Code:
zypper install --force sensorfw-qt5=0.9.4-1.32.1 sensorfw-qt5-configs=0.9.4-1.32.1
zypper addlock sensorfw-qt5
__________________
~ teleshoes ~

Last edited by wolke; 2018-08-04 at 06:29.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Jul 2018 @ Pennsylvaina, USA
#52
Originally Posted by wolke View Post
i have accidentally upgraded sensorfw-qt5 twice now, thus breaking gyro/accel/compass (and by extension, auto-rotation), and each time not noticing until much later that all my photos are portrait..
You have the compass working on the XC? Per the Xperia X bugs list at together.jolla.com, the compass isn't supposed to work:

Missing Xperia-X hardware functionality:

Fingerprint sensor does not currently function. (fixed with SFOS 2.2.0.x)

Compass does not currently function.
https://together.jolla.com/question/...ilfish-x-have/

or do I misunderstand?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thetao For This Useful Post:
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#53
nope, i mispoke, compass has never worked. i meant proximity sensor
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 

The Following User Says Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 2,256 times | Joined on Jul 2014
#54
Originally Posted by thetao View Post
You have the compass working on the XC? Per the Xperia X bugs list at together.jolla.com, the compass isn't supposed to work:



https://together.jolla.com/question/...ilfish-x-have/

or do I misunderstand?
With the latest release compass is supposed to work on the Xperia X and X Compact.

Or maybe its the next release, we're already using some newer stuff in ported devices I think
__________________
SirenSong v0.5
Like my work? buy me a beer
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to r0kk3rz For This Useful Post:
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#55
afaik, compass only works in google maps, period, and only in mouhijoki
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Jul 2018 @ Pennsylvaina, USA
#56
Originally Posted by r0kk3rz View Post
With the latest release compass is supposed to work on the Xperia X and X Compact.

Or maybe its the next release, we're already using some newer stuff in ported devices I think
I'll keep my fingers crossed. If you see any FM radio functionality, please let us know! It's the one feature I will miss and can't work around.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thetao For This Useful Post:
edgar2's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 199 | Thanked: 264 times | Joined on May 2009 @ turku, finland
#57
Isthere any work being done with updating an image for the x compact or is everybody holding their breath for sfos3?



//Happy user of kyminjoki on x compact.

Last edited by edgar2; 2018-08-23 at 06:11.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to edgar2 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 23 times | Joined on Aug 2018
#58
Hello,

Lurker here (from the Internet Tablet Talk days!) and an occasional contributor to the Sailfish OS community.

I'm chiming in to say that I've been working on a compatibility layer to run official Sailfish X images on the Xperia X Compact.

I've been running it as my daily driver for months (before I was running a custom-built port) and things work nicely (at least, I haven't found more bugs than the ones reported on the officiak Xperia X port).

OTAs work (tested on my own device 2.1.3 -> 2.1.4 -> 2.2.0).

OTG doesn't work and likely won't, as the Xperia X kernel does not ship drivers for the Type-C controller in the X Compact.

The main repo is available here: https://github.com/g7/droid-compat-f5321


Unfortunately another piece required (the image patcher) is not yet public because I'm not that satisfied with the code. Due to time constraints I haven't been able to prettify it, nonetheless I hope to release it sometime this or next week.


So, do not give up!


Eugenio
Attached Images
  
 
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#59
in case anyone cares, id pay someone 100$USD to port mouhijoki (or later) to x compact, as long as it was approximately as good a port as the kymijoki, and it comes out in the next coupla months and is publicly available like steph's kymijoki port. (deliverable by paypal or credit card)

just throwing that out there, on the off chance that incentivization would be helpful
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Posts: 202 | Thanked: 385 times | Joined on Jul 2018
#60
Originally Posted by wolke View Post
internet sharing works!
if you have perl (i forget if its by default avail), run this as devel-su in a terminal

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl
use strict;
use warnings;

sub main(@){
  system "echo 2 > /sys/module/bcmdhd/parameters/op_mode";
  print "turn off tethering, turn off wifi, turn on tethering\n";
  print "ready?";
  <STDIN>;
  system "ip link set dev wlan0 master tether";
  print "tethering should now work\n";
  print "disable tethering? [Y/n] ";
  my $ok = <STDIN>;
  if($ok !~ /n/i){
    system "echo 1 > /sys/module/bcmdhd/parameters/op_mode";
    print "turn off tethering, turn off wifi, turn on wifi\n";
    print "also, have fun entering the wifi password\n";
  }else{
    print "ok, leaving tethering on. wifi wont work. rerun this to fix\n";
  }
  print "exiting, ok? (you might want to just close the terminal) ";
  <STDIN>;
}

&main(@ARGV);
EDIT:
anyway, this is what you need to do as devel-su:

echo 2 > /sys/module/bcmdhd/parameters/op_mode
#turn off tethering, turn off wifi, turn on tethering

ip link set dev wlan0 master tether

#to turn it off, turn off tethering button and then run:
echo 1 > /sys/module/bcmdhd/parameters/op_mode
First script working for me. Second script returns '...device 'tether' not found'

Thanks
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05.