Active Topics

 


Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Barcelona, Spain
#411
Originally Posted by kwek View Post
Ive seen this error before but not yet a clear solution.. I have tried first the autoinstaller at first on a SD card of 8GB.. The autoinstaller already did the bootmenu and I've flashed the kernel manually. That didn't boot android so i formatted again manually: Ive made 1 partition 128MB, formatted to vfat and another partition (about 8GB) and formatted ext3. Ive extracted the rootfs to the big second ext3 partition using bunzip2/tar in maemo.

When booting the bootmenu comes up fine and i can select android.. but then:

Code:
getbootstate: Mounting mmcblk0p2
 on /mnt/new_root failed: No such device
Command exited with non-zero status 255
real  xx
user xx
sys xx
Choose bootup option:
 2) MMC
 9) Start a shell
Any idea what this could be? Could it be the SD card that it cant read somehow? Did i do something wrong with the rootfs / kernel?
Ok well ignore this because i tried re-installing again this using the last update of dj_steve from
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...postcount=2142

This time it booted.. Great work!
 
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Barcelona, Spain
#412
Originally Posted by Dousan View Post
installed the new froyo build using steves new guide. All went well but i can't boot into nitdroid. When i choose the number (1) that should boot nitdroid it just boots into the bootmenu again. Anybody know how to fix this?

An Other thing, the number (0) that should boot into maemo just shuts it down... Is it supposed to do that? Further more it takes a few tries to boot into maemo?
I had this when i had the old bootmenu installed and extracted steve's over it.. then there are double boot entries. trashing /etc/bootmenu and unpacking the new bootmenu to / worked for me.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to kwek For This Useful Post:
Dousan's Avatar
Posts: 1,161 | Thanked: 1,707 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Denmark
#413
Originally Posted by Darko View Post
Same was to me, but option 4 boots android for me...
Thanks for the answer

I'd figured it out before you wrote... I just tried one boot option after another (didn't have an answer anyway so why not try something while waiting) and bam number 4 did the trick
__________________
My Procreate art:
https://folio.procreate.art/dousan

My Søciety6:
http://society6.com/Dousan
 
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 24 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#414
Guys I need help with this guide:

Originally Posted by dj_steve View Post
new rootfs linked now which has working wifi, thanks to hstende for helping test and fix this

::UPDATE TIME::
This will be added to first post tomorrow also

New RootFS: http://downloads.nitdroid.com/NITDro...-Fixed.tar.bz2 | http://files2.nitdroid.com/NITDroid-...-Fixed.tar.bz2
Kernel Required: 2.6.28.NIT.02(http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/....NIT.02.tar.gz | http://files2.nitdroid.com/zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz)
Kernel Modules Required For Maemo: 2.6.28.NIT.02(http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/....NIT.02.tar.gz | http://files2.nitdroid.com/modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz)
Recommended Additional Items: Beta3 Bootmenu but Jay-C: http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/...2.beta3.tar.gz | http://files2.nitdroid.com/bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz


Their is a small howto below for getting this running as it is not as simple as previous roots due to Google APPs

--CHANGELOG--
Froyo(2.2) Based
Battery Reporting Broken Currently
FULL GOOGLE APPS INCLUDING MARKET THAT CAN DOWNLOAD/INSTALL THINGS
Calibrated Touchscreen driver (Thanks again Jay-C)
Flash Player IS NOT included by default but should be downloadable from http://www.adobe.com/go/getfp10android after activating device with google account (to enable market access)

All in all this is VERY stable, google apps give no reduction in speed nor do they crash (except once at first boot- see below)

ok now for the howto:

All these steps should be performed on N900
Start off with a open xterm window at root shell or an open ssh connection(ssh is easier to typ in)

1. Install new bootmenu if you chose to use it (highly recommended)

Code:
cd /
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz
tar xzvf bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz
rm bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz
2. Download And Install new Kernel Modules
Code:
cd /lib/modules
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
tar xzvf modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
rm modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz 
rm current
ln -fs 2.6.28.NIT.02 current
depmod -a 2.6.28.NIT.02
3. Mount your android partition and install rootfs (this will wipe out previous data so backup anything you want)
Code:
cd /
mkdir and
mount -o noatime,rw /dev/mmcblk1p2 /and
cd /home/user/MyDocs
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar.bz2
bzip2 -d NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar.bz2
cd /and
tar xvf /home/user/MyDocs/NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar
cd ..
umount /and
rmdir /and
4. flash new kernel:
Code:
cd /home/user/MyDocs
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
tar xzvf zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
rm System.map-2.6.28.NIT.02
** open up a second xterm window as root and run this **
Code:
softupd -vv -s --local
** switch back to other xterm and continue **
Code:
flasher --local -f -k /home/user/MyDocs/zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02
close both xterm windows once flash completes.

thats the install done. now reboot into your new os

few things to mention about this build:

1. On first boot you will get a prompt of what to use to do something, pick setupwizard
2. it will take a short while for device to load far enough to select the item above so be patient
3. once into setup wizard click skip > skip and next all the way. then when it loads up the add account wizard skip that also.
4. SetupWizard will now crash, click close and the android desktop will return.
5. Go setup your wifi (will very likely require a reboot to work)
6. once wifi is up go into market app and wait, the add accoutn wizard will appear and you can now continue through and setup your google account. once it is setup wait and the market will load after a short time


hopefully this is nice and clear and simple

sorry for mega post again
I'm having I problem with the command softupd -vv -s --local

Image:



Same problem while using Ubuntu
 
Posts: 24 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia
#415
Originally Posted by dj_steve
All these steps should be performed on N900

That could be it.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Forphucsake For This Useful Post:
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 24 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#416
Originally Posted by Forphucsake View Post
That could be it.
Lol,, didn't see this
Thanks
 
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 55 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ İstanbul - Turkey
#417
I'm getting permission denied errors while booting. Tried chmod 777 system/apps/* but it didn't work, even though ls -l shows it should. I used gparted instead of fdisk, could that be the reason?
 
Posts: 106 | Thanked: 38 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Bucharest
#418
If i want to unninstall nitroid i have to format the microsd card...is that all ? After that no files from nitroid/bootmenu remain in my phone memory ? During the nitoid setup some file is flashed to my phone...is that removed to ?
 
Descalzo's Avatar
Posts: 369 | Thanked: 167 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#419
Originally Posted by vitamina View Post
If i want to unninstall nitroid i have to format the microsd card...is that all ? After that no files from nitroid/bootmenu remain in my phone memory ? During the nitoid setup some file is flashed to my phone...is that removed to ?

The items flashed to your N900 are not removed when you format the microsd. But you probably won't notice them.
__________________
N900
 
Posts: 59 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009
#420
i have one error on command "bzip2 -d NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar.bz2"

terminal on n900 show me bzip2 not found
why?

sorry for my bad english....

Last edited by tobyax; 2010-07-08 at 20:14.
 
Closed Thread


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:39.