Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#1
Hi,

Wondering if other people have this problem, and if so, if it is hardware or
firmware related.

Most of the time, I cannot get a fix on my location using the internal GPS.

This problem occurs in different scenarios. For example, when I open the map
program that ships with the phone it sometimes can get a fix but most of the
times it cannot. I have compiled and run on the phone the sample GPS program
provided in the wikis and have the same issue there.

I seem to have better results when I am at home, maybe that's because I am
also connected to the wifi when I am there..?
Two people I know have been unable to get a fix at all since they got the
N900..

Anyone had the same issues?

-Sveinn
 
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 304 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Orlando, USA
#2
Known issue: https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5337

please see if you can contribute further information.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to archebyte For This Useful Post:
fpp's Avatar
Posts: 2,853 | Thanked: 968 times | Joined on Nov 2005
#3
And here I was hoping that the N900's GPS would be better than the N810's, which almost never worked for me... :-)
__________________
maemo blog
 
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 304 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Orlando, USA
#4
there have been claims on twitter that the new firmware (42-11) has better GPS responsiveness. so will have to wait and see,
 
Posts: 519 | Thanked: 366 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ North Carolina (Formerly Denmark and Iceland)
#5
Originally Posted by Sveinn View Post
Hi,

Wondering if other people have this problem, and if so, if it is hardware or
firmware related.

Most of the time, I cannot get a fix on my location using the internal GPS.

This problem occurs in different scenarios. For example, when I open the map
program that ships with the phone it sometimes can get a fix but most of the
times it cannot. I have compiled and run on the phone the sample GPS program
provided in the wikis and have the same issue there.

I seem to have better results when I am at home, maybe that's because I am
also connected to the wifi when I am there..?
Two people I know have been unable to get a fix at all since they got the
N900..

Anyone had the same issues?

-Sveinn
Sęll,
Ertu meš einn af sķmunum frį Maemo rįšstefnunni?

This GPS lag is disappointing, even more so after reading the bugzilla entry. The N95-1 could take 10 minutes to get a lock unassisted, but being completely unable to do so is not very good for the new Nokia top dog.
 
chemist's Avatar
Administrator | Posts: 1,035 | Thanked: 2,008 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Germany
#6
Originally Posted by olighak View Post
Sęll,
Ertu meš einn af sķmunum frį Maemo rįšstefnunni?

This GPS lag is disappointing, even more so after reading the bugzilla entry. The N95-1 could take 10 minutes to get a lock unassisted, but being completely unable to do so is not very good for the new Nokia top dog.
those 10 minutes, are a <12minutes spot it takes to get a fix unassisted, a device started in a new (does also mean not used for a longer period of time) location needs to download (receive in this case) the satellite data of at least 3 satellites to get a fix, this delay can be up to 12 minutes due to the data rate the satellites are streaming. on my sony it takes about 8 minutes and then it pops up with 6+ satellites following
 
Posts: 161 | Thanked: 23 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#7
I'm actually having a problem myself. The GPS won't connect and the connection times out because it thinks ovi map is inactive. From what I see, the bug is only limited to not having a network connection, but obviously I'm getting 3.5G data.

I also want to confirm if the location server under, network positioning is correct. Is the location server suppose to be supl.nokia.com?

One more thing, since I've gotten the phone, not once have I got a gps connection. I've also tried different places too, but no luck.
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#8
Originally Posted by MNX1024 View Post
I also want to confirm if the location server under, network positioning is correct. Is the location server suppose to be supl.nokia.com?
.
Well my N900 gets a fix very quickly. I can confirm that your location server entry is correct (at least the same as mine)

So I get good GPS, but no MIC and no auto focus!! Can't have everything I suppose ;-)
 
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2009
#9
while I waiting for my N900... continue to use my N800 + external bluetooth and I can get a fix in about 20sec. on N95 may wait 10-15min before I get a fix.
 
Posts: 161 | Thanked: 23 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#10
Maybe I'll have to trade in my N900 for another one. Seeing how you guys can get a fix and I can't what so ever. Could be a defective unit.
 
Reply

Tags
lack of quality control

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37.