Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Kangal's Avatar
Posts: 1,789 | Thanked: 1,696 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#11
Yeah but it's [Hummingbird] been customized to perform better.
Think of it as a 1.1GHz Cortex A8 with SGX540 (drools)

now if you think that doesn't matter, compare it to the Snapdragon.
This is a completely modified SoC (not an ARM Cortex A8) and it performs below a 1GHz Cortex A8's standard (I think more at 880MHz). Also it combines a much slower Adreno 200 GPU (comparable to a SGX530).

So the Nexus One and Samsung Galaxy S are actually on the opposing sides of the Cortex A8 performance, but with Android's java implementation, both chips perform quite close (probably cause HTC's software implementation is better).

Last edited by Kangal; 2010-10-10 at 09:10.
 
Posts: 395 | Thanked: 165 times | Joined on May 2010 @ TMO
#12
Originally Posted by Kangal View Post
Yeah but it's been customized to perform better.
Think of it as a 1.1GHz Cortex A8 with SGX540 (drools)

now if you think that doesn't matter, compare it to the Snapdragon.
It's a completely modified SoC performs below a 1GHz Cortex A8's standard (I think more at 880MHz) and it combines a Adreno 200 GPU (comparable to a SGX530).

So the Nexus One and Samsung Galaxy S are on the opposing sides of the Cortex A8 performance, but with Android's java implementation, both chips perform quite close (since HTC's software implementation is better).
It's not comparable to a SGX530. It's much inferior to a SGX530. Adreno 205 is then comparable to SGX530.
 
Kangal's Avatar
Posts: 1,789 | Thanked: 1,696 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#13
Originally Posted by rickysio View Post
It's not comparable to a SGX530. It's much inferior to a SGX530. Adreno 205 is then comparable to SGX530.
My bad it should've written SGX520. However, the Snapdragon is not as straightforward as this. The Adreno 200 (or AMD z430) should sustain theoretical speeds of around 7Mpoly/sec (relative to the SGX520), it has been advertised that the QSD SoC can achieve 28Mpoly/sec.
What this points to is that for graphics its likely that both CPU and GPU play major roles in processing the images instead of the traditional where the GPU does the work and the CPU stays idle. I actually prefer the traditional method because I think it leaves some overhead for multitasking and saves on battery.
But the real point I should make, the QSD should never be able to hit 28Mpoly/sec, it should only do about half due to the RAM limitations. There are many posts on the internet that claim the Motorola Droid has better graphics in Market games, and now its easy to know why.

Refer to arstechnica for more info
This site is also useful: http://sean-the-electrofreak.blogspo...agon-1ghz.html
 
elie-7's Avatar
Posts: 968 | Thanked: 663 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Australia (Melbourne/vic) / Lebanon (Zgharta/north)
#14
Originally Posted by patlak View Post
It still is a Cortex A8
your right, our n900 overclocked at 1ghz is a hummingbird .
__________________
rolling down the street, smoking ENDO, sipping on gin and juice
laid back, with my mind on my money and my money on my mind .

Last edited by elie-7; 2010-10-10 at 12:14.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to elie-7 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 158 | Thanked: 61 times | Joined on May 2010
#15
Excellent hardware - but whats the use if there is hardly any software that will make use of it?
 
efekt's Avatar
Posts: 422 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Israel
#16
Why on earth would someone want BADA on his N900?
__________________
As long as people will accept crap, it will be financially profitable to dispense it...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to efekt For This Useful Post:
Posts: 111 | Thanked: 33 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#17
Originally Posted by efekt View Post
Why on earth would someone want BADA on his N900?
Just because, theoretically, it can be done.

" - Hey, I have a helluva operational systems on my N900! "
And don't care if they are irrelevant.

Can't see another explanation.
 
efekt's Avatar
Posts: 422 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Israel
#18
Originally Posted by LucianoBraga View Post
Just because, theoretically, it can be done.

" - Hey, I have a helluva operational systems on my N900! "
And don't care if they are irrelevant.

Can't see another explanation.
Yup... probably the ONLY reason now...
__________________
As long as people will accept crap, it will be financially profitable to dispense it...
 
Posts: 158 | Thanked: 61 times | Joined on May 2010
#19
Its... "BECAUSE YOU CAN"..

Lets have a competition of who can run the most OS's from a single N900!!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to bchliu For This Useful Post:
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 737 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Low Earth Orbit
#20
There are some things you shouldn't do, even if you can.
 
Reply

Tags
bada blows, bada rox, googol facepalm, triple facepalm

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:16.