Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Apeldoorn, NL / Beijing, CHN
#1
It is possible to install the Maemo 5 SDK (final) on Fedora 12. You first need to make sure you have installed Xephyr. You can do so with the command:

$ yum install Xephyr

since the installer is not able to do so for other distributions than Ubuntu and debian.

In the file maemo-sdk-install-wizard_5.0.py you can change line 129 to

SB_PATH="/opt/scratchbox"

change line 2311 to:

exec_cmd(sb_installer_fn + opt + "-s " + SB_PATH)

change line 2351 to:

cmd = "%s -d -m %s -s %s" % (sdk_installer_fn, self.__sdk_inst_m_opt_arg, SB_PATH)

this includes the Scratchbox path during the command invocation. You can then install the SDK by running the script. It will handle the download of PyQT and sip itself.

After the install you can start Xephyr. However you can not use the -kb option:

$ Xephyr :2 -host-cursor -screen 800x480x16 -dpi 96 -ac &

The first start of af-sb-init.sh failed for me with a coredump and several segmentation faults. try to close the scratchbox environment and try again. The result: http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo...PVlzul5UjAaSqg

Greets!

Note: I haven't tried it with SELinux as enforcing since I currently run my workstation as permissive.

Last edited by gbraad; 2009-11-22 at 23:18.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to gbraad For This Useful Post:
deadmalc's Avatar
Posts: 415 | Thanked: 182 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Leeds UK
#2
Wow!
I found your page off "fedora people" http://blog.gbraad.nl/2009/11/maemo-...fedora-12.html

Now to get coding! A lot of learning and work to do.
Got to say I am massively impressed with maemo 5, I can't think of the last time something actually impressed me.
I really didn't think it would be this good.
__________________
Life on the edge....always waiting to fall
 

The Following User Says Thank You to deadmalc For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#3
nice article, I did exactly the way you have mentioned on my f12-kde machine. But after installation there were some errors though the Xephyr server started but the window was black with only mouse/keyboard grab/release with following errors

[root@localhost ~]# Xephyr :2 -host-cursor -screen 800x480x16 -dpi 96 -ac &
[1] 3458
[root@localhost ~]# record: RECORD extension enabled at configure time.
record: This extension is known to be broken, disabling extension now..
record: http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=20500
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
Ignoring device from HAL.
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed (2)
^C^C
[root@localhost ~]# XIO: fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server ":0.0"
after 41 requests (41 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
 
Posts: 176 | Thanked: 262 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Texas, USA
#4
The SDK is not SELinux friendly. The QEMU that Nokia is using requires some privileged access. Nokia should have fixed this issue before releasing the final SDK.

I also cannot get it to work on a 64-bit machine. All the packages are installed, but starting up the GUI results in nothing in my Xephyr window. Yes, I started it on :2 and exported DISPLAY=:2. I have this working within the Nokia packaged VM under VirtualBox, but I'd rather not have it there.
 
ewan's Avatar
Posts: 445 | Thanked: 572 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Oxford
#5
I have to say I saved myself the hassle and just used the VM approach - Fedora has excellent in-built support for running virtual machines and it doesn't take long to set up a basic Ubuntu install in one. Aside from giving the SDK the sort of environment it expects to see it also protects your real system from any potential SDK weirdness - it does need to run some components as root, and a VM keeps it nicely contained.
 
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 566 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Redstone Canyon, Colorado
#6
I'm trying to install on Fedora 12 x86_64, but it aborts thusly:

Code:
which: no dpkg in (/usr/bin:/bin)
dpkg tool in path... no
E: This script requires dpkg to install .deb files.
V [17:19:35 04.12.2009]: Installer execution failed
V [17:19:35 04.12.2009]: ----- Begin logging exception -----
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./maemo-sdk-install-wizard_5.0.py", line 2705, in run
    task()
  File "./maemo-sdk-install-wizard_5.0.py", line 2318, in __taskInstallScratchbox
    raise Exception("Installer execution failed")
Exception: Installer execution failed
V [17:19:35 04.12.2009]: ----- End logging exception -----
V [17:19:35 04.12.2009]: Executor set exit status to (status_error)
 
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 566 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Redstone Canyon, Colorado
#7
I just need to RTFS.

Code:
--- maemo-sdk-install-wizard_5.0.py.orig	2009-11-16 08:16:39.000000000 -0300
+++ maemo-sdk-install-wizard_5.0.py	2009-12-04 17:29:00.905719892 -0300
@@ -2308,7 +2308,7 @@
        tries = 2
        while (True):
            try:
-                exec_cmd(sb_installer_fn + opt)
+                exec_cmd(sb_installer_fn + opt + "-s " + SB_PATH)
            except:
                tries -= 1
                if tries:
@@ -2348,7 +2348,7 @@


        # do the installation thing
-        cmd = "%s -d -m %s" % (sdk_installer_fn, self.__sdk_inst_m_opt_arg)
+        cmd = "%s -d -m %s -s %s" % (sdk_installer_fn, self.__sdk_inst_m_opt_arg, SB_PATH)

        if self.__targets_exist:
            if self.__remove_targets:
Btw, I have some notes which may be of use to you as the page develops:

http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Jebba

Thanks,

-Jeff
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jebba For This Useful Post:
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 566 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Redstone Canyon, Colorado
#8
I got this up and running A-OK in Fedora 12 x86_64 (64 bit), FYI.
 
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 566 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Redstone Canyon, Colorado
#9
@acedip:

That's actually OK. Note, you don't have to run Xephyr as root. In fact you probably shouldn't.

Then run these commands (in another terminal, perhaps):

Code:
newgrp sbox
/scratchbox/login
Then at the scratchbox prompt, run:
Code:
af-sb-init.sh
That will start up the emulator.

Good luck,

-Jeff
 
Posts: 176 | Thanked: 262 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Texas, USA
#10
Originally Posted by jebba View Post
I got this up and running A-OK in Fedora 12 x86_64 (64 bit), FYI.
Jebba, you don't have to modify the kernel command line. Just add a line to /etc/sysctl.conf

abi.vsyscall32=0

That way you don't have to reboot.
(sysctl -p)

P.S. I have F12 x86_64 working as well. Sweetness...

P.P.S. You still can't run the ARM emulator. X86 only. Ugh.

Last edited by mooninite; 2009-12-05 at 03:25.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mooninite For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03.