Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1
Hi,

i have looked for the bash on Maemo and found it in the repositorys. I can set it with chsh for root, when i set it for the user then the N900 will no more boot, can anybody confirm this? The only solution is to flash the device.

A other question is, if anybody has managed it to install gnu coreutils. I miss the 'ls' color support and a few programs in this package. Busybox is a bit - minimalistic I haven't found the coreutils package in the repo, perhaps anybody has compiled it for the target platform?

with kind regards

Patrick
 
Posts: 543 | Thanked: 181 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Universe,LocalCluster.MilkyWay.Sol.Earth.Europe.Slovenia.Ljubljana
#2
Gnu coreutils(as gcoreutils and also gtar) are available in my repository(see signature).

Yes setting shell to anything other than sh will kill the device.
__________________
For any repos or anything else I might have working on my N900 see:
http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Ruskie
A quick list of what I have in the repos
zsh|xmms2|fcron|gtar|gcoreutils
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ruskie For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,802 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#3
ruskie: is there any way you can upload those to Extras-devel? Gnu tar would be very nice, also.

Also, it is best to make an icon that starts an xterminal running bash. I wish the bash package would include this icon. Is the maintainer on talk.maemo.org?
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!

Last edited by qole; 2010-01-11 at 19:50.
 
Posts: 543 | Thanked: 181 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Universe,LocalCluster.MilkyWay.Sol.Earth.Europe.Slovenia.Ljubljana
#4
I don't really much care for extras so none of my packages are actually extras friendly and most don't even have any fields and so on setup properly.

I find working with debian/ stuff annoying.

But I do provide deb-src for all of this os if anyone else is willing to do the effort to move it to extras then do so.

I already help out with another distro so I don't want to become a maintainer around here. No time and energy.
__________________
For any repos or anything else I might have working on my N900 see:
http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Ruskie
A quick list of what I have in the repos
zsh|xmms2|fcron|gtar|gcoreutils

Last edited by ruskie; 2010-01-11 at 20:49.
 
fnordianslip's Avatar
Posts: 670 | Thanked: 359 times | Joined on May 2007
#5
I set /bin/bash as the shell for user in /etc/passwd and it works ok for me, obiously after installing bash.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fnordianslip For This Useful Post:
Posts: 543 | Thanked: 181 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Universe,LocalCluster.MilkyWay.Sol.Earth.Europe.Slovenia.Ljubljana
#6
Did you reboot yet?
__________________
For any repos or anything else I might have working on my N900 see:
http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Ruskie
A quick list of what I have in the repos
zsh|xmms2|fcron|gtar|gcoreutils
 
fnordianslip's Avatar
Posts: 670 | Thanked: 359 times | Joined on May 2007
#7
Originally Posted by ruskie View Post
Did you reboot yet?
<br>
<br>Indeed. I did this about a month ago and it's been fine ever since. I've left root with the default shell though. <br>
__________________
Class .. : Lame hacker & beardy boffin
Humour . : [#######---] Alignment: Apathetic anarchist
Patience : [####------] Weapon(s): My cat, my code.
Agro ... : |#---------] Relic(s) : N900, MacBookPro, NSLU2, N800, SheevaPlug, Eee-901, Core2-Quad, PS3
"In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they're not."
--
Beware of extras-devel.
 
Posts: 543 | Thanked: 181 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Universe,LocalCluster.MilkyWay.Sol.Earth.Europe.Slovenia.Ljubljana
#8
Hmm each time I changed that it failed to boot.
__________________
For any repos or anything else I might have working on my N900 see:
http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Ruskie
A quick list of what I have in the repos
zsh|xmms2|fcron|gtar|gcoreutils
 
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,426 | Thanked: 2,984 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#9
Yes, don't link /bin/sh to /bin/bash. BAD!

Just use /bin/bash in /etc/passwd for user and/or root.
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
Posts: 543 | Thanked: 181 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Universe,LocalCluster.MilkyWay.Sol.Earth.Europe.Slovenia.Ljubljana
#10
I didn't link it... I only changed it in passwd and it failed to boot.
__________________
For any repos or anything else I might have working on my N900 see:
http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Ruskie
A quick list of what I have in the repos
zsh|xmms2|fcron|gtar|gcoreutils
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:46.