Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 64 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#91
I'm using N900 as router. (using USB RJ45 dongle). I modified your script for that purpose.

Here my remarks:
1. In open_wifi_hotspot.sh there should be:
Code:
stop dnsmasq
before you start your own dnsmasq daemon (in other case, there will be two instances running).

2. I had issues with DNSMASQ with -I parameter set to lo. Basically this limits it to localhost interface and wlan clients didn't obtain DHCP lease. So i removed -I parameter completely

3. In tar ball you have DHCP_RANGE="192.168.4.100,192.168.4.127", but suggest you to put it back to DHCP_RANGE="192.168.1.100,192.168.1.127" (as in first post)

4. In wifi.sh, we should stop dnsmasq daemon (started in open open_wifi_hotspot.sh) and start the default one.

Code:
start-stop-daemon -S -p /var/run/wifi_tethering.pid
start dnsmasq
Anyway thank you for this script. It saved lot of time.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mauron85 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 669 | Thanked: 429 times | Joined on May 2010
#92
I don't know if 9000 still available - i was hoping he might help with this:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...13#post1436813
 
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#93
Trying to connect to the N900 with an Android phone, I don't see honeypot in the list of Wifi networks near me. I ran the script as is, and it reported no problems.
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 1,200 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#94
Originally Posted by chill View Post
Trying to connect to the N900 with an Android phone, I don't see honeypot in the list of Wifi networks near me. I ran the script as is, and it reported no problems.
Standard Android doesn't support to connect to ad-hoc mode.

There could be two solutions.

1. Make your Android able to connect to ad-hoc.
2. Or rewrite the wifi driver for N900 to support direct link.

You could also use genwall and share the internet connection over bluetooth.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#95
But I can't see that Android can connect to the internet via a paired Bluetooth device.
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 1,200 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#96
Originally Posted by chill View Post
But I can't see that Android can connect to the internet via a paired Bluetooth device.
Nothing is easy with Android, if you do network stuff. It is designed for writing whatsapp messages for people who don't know personal computers

I thought it should work, I never tried.
Have a look here. Maybe it helps.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 4,755 | Thanked: 14,103 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#97
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Nothing is easy with Android, if you do network stuff. It is designed for writing whatsapp messages for people who don't know personal computers
Am I the only one seeing a contradiction between sentence one and sentence two?

Besides, blaming Android is getting a bit old. Who are you going to blame for my Jolla also not seeing the hotspot created by my N900?
__________________
In particle accelerators atoms are indeed not only touching each others. But banging together in a massive explosive orgasm.
-- nieldk in a TMO post
 
Community Council | Posts: 1,776 | Thanked: 4,132 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Germany
#98
Originally Posted by pichlo View Post
Who are you going to blame for my Jolla also not seeing the hotspot created by my N900?
Jolla actually uses the Android kernel and modules, so so much for blaming Android
 
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#99
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Nothing is easy with Android, if you do network stuff. It is designed for writing whatsapp messages for people who don't know personal computers

I thought it should work, I never tried.
Have a look here. Maybe it helps.
Yeah I've seen that and other web sites, but it looks like there is no magic wand out there.
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 
pichlo's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 4,755 | Thanked: 14,103 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#100
Originally Posted by reinob View Post
Jolla actually uses the Android kernel and modules...
but it uses its own userland.
__________________
In particle accelerators atoms are indeed not only touching each others. But banging together in a massive explosive orgasm.
-- nieldk in a TMO post
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:40.