Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
airhurt's Avatar
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2007 @ Northwoods of Wisconsin
#11
Yep... I had the same probs... but not any more. Thank you!!!
__________________
Nokia 770
ITOS 2006
Motorola RAZR V3c
Alltel Wireless
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2007
#12
So I get airodump to capture packets, but the # packets under "data" does not match the #IV's aircrack claims I collected. For example, I ran a short test and airodump claimed to capture 5300 IV's and Aircrack claimed I only captured 73. I am running the following script:
airodump-ng -c 6 -w zack --bssid **:**:**:**:**:** --ivs wlan0

** astericks are instead of actual MAC address.

If anyone could please shed some light on the discrepancy between programs.

Oh and one more thing, how do you write to a previously created file (in this case zack-01.ivs).

Last edited by zacksmojo; 2007-08-05 at 17:53.
 
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Nov 2006
#13
Could somebody define the steps if I wanted to use Kismet to gather the packets and use Aircrack for the procedure?
 
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#14
Installed wireless tools. wlan0 now shows up in ifconfig.

airodump-ng wlan0 -still displays a list of available command-line options.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to oprion For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2007
#15
if you do the following it sort of works:

airodump-ng -w mycapture --ivs wlan0

this gives you all the data from all channels in a file. then you can go back and run the statement again with the -c X thing that he mentioned earlier.
 
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007 @ 60201
#16
Originally Posted by mfresh View Post
But you can use the suite. Try this after installing aircrack-ng
start Xterm, and become root.

Then enter:
airodump-ng wlan0

This will show you what networks are around, and the MAC addresses of the access points and computers which are connected, and what channels they are operating on. Make a note of the channel of the access point you want to test (ie your own one)
This doesn't work for me.
Originally Posted by mfresh View Post

Now quit airodump-ng by doing a control c , then restart it by typing

airodump-ng -c X -w mycapture --ivs wlan0

but change the X for the channel number of your access point. This will start capturing data which you will use to crack the WEP key, in a file called mycapture-01.ivs in your home directory

Now you have to wait for a while, till you have captured enough data to crack the WEP key. If the access point is busy then you might not have to wait too long.
This does work, I just put channel 11, my AP channel.
I left it on overnight, but woke up to it saying "SIGALRM". Which might mean the unit went to sleep (too!) and didn't wake.

Is there a way to tell it to not sleep?
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#17
awesome, this thread got me up and running.
 
Posts: 34 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ Bulgaria - Vidin
#18
Cracking Wep on a 770 is useless in real sircumstances as wifi drivers don't support injection (If someone finds or writes some that do email me at ludmilvd@gmail.com) but for studing purposes its cool. It would be great if we had good drivers - 770 would be the great key breaking device.
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#19
i start airodump-ng and after some minutes i get "read failed: Network is down".does anybody knows something?
Also i only get 1 to 6 ivs
Help me please
 
bluezz's Avatar
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007 @ New York, USA
#20
Originally Posted by badmacktuck View Post
if you do the following it sort of works:

airodump-ng -w mycapture --ivs wlan0

this gives you all the data from all channels in a file. then you can go back and run the statement again with the -c X thing that he mentioned earlier.
"airodump-ng -w mycapture --ivs wlan0" worked for me. Get all the data in the file. But here is my uber-noob question:

How do I know just by looking at a mac address that this is the wireless for which I want the key ?
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:50.