Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Morpog's Avatar
Posts: 956 | Thanked: 2,621 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#1
Some of you may have noticed, that the videobitrate is kinda low for 1080p video (around 12Mbit/s).

I've found a gstreamer preset file where we can change this. 24Mbit was too much, I tried upto 20Mbit/s which seems to work without framedrops. I tried changing framerate (at 30 currently) and audio bitrate (AAC at 128Kbit/s) too, but failed so far.

All you need to do is change in the following file:

/usr/share/jolla-camera/presets/GstOMXMPEG4VideoEnc-omxmpeg4videoenc.prs

the line:
target-bitrate=12000000

to the following:
target-bitrate=20000000


Maybe someone else with more gstreamer knowledge can dig more options out of this.

 

The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Morpog For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,291 | Thanked: 2,257 times | Joined on May 2011
#2
Sorry, misread the post. It's about the camera encoder.

Last edited by shmerl; 2014-01-01 at 05:24.
 
Posts: 363 | Thanked: 384 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Slovenia
#3
Any news on this?
 
Morpog's Avatar
Posts: 956 | Thanked: 2,621 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#4
Not yet, had a chat with a Jolla emloye about it, but he had holidays at that time

Meanwhile I started this on together: https://together.jolla.com/question/...in-camera-app/

Please vote up!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Morpog For This Useful Post:
Posts: 66 | Thanked: 80 times | Joined on Dec 2013 @ Finland
#5
Originally Posted by Morpog View Post

All you need to do is change in the following file:

/usr/share/jolla-camera/presets/GstOMXMPEG4VideoEnc-omxmpeg4videoenc.prs

the line:
target-bitrate=12000000

to the following:
target-bitrate=20000000

How can I edit that file on Jolla?

Edit: Never mind. I did a file with PC and moved it to Jolla with DropBox and moved it whit Terminal.
Video is more smoother now, thanks!

Last edited by Kake41; 2014-01-19 at 14:33.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Kake41 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 156 | Thanked: 239 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Finland
#6
Oh, I hadn't realized that Jolla uses "old" MPEG4 h.263, instead of AVC/h.264. That would cause the need for higher bitrate. But there seems to be config file for h.264 aswell (GstOMXH264Enc-omxh264enc.prs), but not used for some reason?
 
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 67 times | Joined on Jun 2015 @ Munich, Germany
#7
Originally Posted by DeeGee View Post
But there seems to be config file for h.264 aswell (GstOMXH264Enc-omxh264enc.prs), but not used for some reason?
I tried to force its usage by editing /etc/xdg/gstomx.conf but that broke the camera app copletely. Now my wild guess is that the camera hardware itself produces h.263 and the driver needs to be configured somehow but hopefully someone with more knowledge can help.
 
Posts: 407 | Thanked: 933 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Enschede, The Netherlands
#8
In the upcoming release (due Monday, according to some tweets) the camera will use h.264. See comments on TJC topic.
 
MSameer's Avatar
Posts: 597 | Thanked: 1,735 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Helsinki
#9
There are no tweets. I did the commit that switched recording to H264 myself ;-)
__________________
We need a coffee machine that doesn't ask for coffee beans every 10 hours
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to MSameer For This Useful Post:
Posts: 407 | Thanked: 933 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Enschede, The Netherlands
#10
I meant the tweets on SFOS 1.1.9/2.0 E.A.

But why did it took so long to enable H264? And why no hardware acceleration for audio/AAC? Is it because Qualcomm is hostile to open source?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzzillogic For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:21.