Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,463 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#1
Wondering if anyone in Australia has a Jolla?

Does it work on 3G??

Cheers!
 
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 98 times | Joined on May 2013 @ Melbourne, Aus
#2
I'm wondering the same thing, but thinking more like 4g. That's probably doubtful isn't it...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Greendts For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,463 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#3
4G doesnt work on any Jolla yet, but thats only limited by software.

As far as I can tell 3G will work in Aus but I heard it wont work with telstra but will with optus
 

The Following User Says Thank You to F2thaK For This Useful Post:
Posts: 183 | Thanked: 98 times | Joined on Mar 2011 @ Brisbane, Australia
#4
Originally Posted by F2thaK View Post
4G doesnt work on any Jolla yet, but thats only limited by software.

As far as I can tell 3G will work in Aus but I heard it wont work with telstra but will with optus
Telstra = 850mhz
Vodafail = 850/900/2100mhz
Optarse = 900/2100

According to : http://www.gsmarena.com/jolla_jolla-5457.php

Appears it runs all 3 frequencies, so shouldn't be any problems on Telstra. i don't have one yet... will eventually get one once they fix up their distribution here.

edit: I take it back. According to their official website, only 900/2100. That's disappointing, guess a rule of thumb is that if your N900 worked, your Jolla will work. The N9 port is looking like the better option for now...
__________________
N900 | N9 - 64gb | www.EverythingN9.com - Nokia N9 Tips, Tricks, and Reviews

Last edited by Storm_11; 2014-01-04 at 05:49.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Storm_11 For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,463 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#5
if GSM arena specs are correct 3G on telstra will work.

question is, will 4G work once software allows it?

cant find what LTE freq's Jolla uses, these are the ones used in Aus
http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/mobile_phone_frequencies
 
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 98 times | Joined on May 2013 @ Melbourne, Aus
#6
If I play my cards right, mine should be returning along with my fiancé when she returns from Sweden in July.

So by then, most issues will have been resolved??
 
DJJonosound's Avatar
Posts: 411 | Thanked: 302 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Australia
#7
Damn. It appears theres some competition to be the first Jolla owner in Australia.
 
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 98 times | Joined on May 2013 @ Melbourne, Aus
#8
No need for competition, I think we just need to be full of praise for the first recipient, sort of having our own little community.

We're gonna be unique having Jolla here in Australia, let's be at peace rather than bragging who got it first
 
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 98 times | Joined on May 2013 @ Melbourne, Aus
#9
Originally Posted by F2thaK View Post
4G doesnt work on any Jolla yet, but thats only limited by software.

As far as I can tell 3G will work in Aus but I heard it wont work with telstra but will with optus
Damn, I'm with Telstra, got no plans of Optus cos their reception is questionable where I am
 
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,463 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#10
Someone in Aus already has one....

I just want to know if it works as it is now.
 
Reply

Tags
australia, jolla phone

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:37.