Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
PMaff's Avatar
Posts: 361 | Thanked: 218 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#1
I have a strange problem:
one (older) N900 can connect to a WLAN from NETGEAR, the other (younger) N900 cannot connect.
The only difference between both is, that the one that can connect, has a SIM card inserted and the other has no SIM card.

It is also very strange, that the one (younger) N900 that cannot connect to this router, can connect to a another LTE/WLAN router.
So WLAN is working in principle and the router has the correct
config.
The non working N900 does not even display the NETGEARs WLAN!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PMaff For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 3,210 | Thanked: 5,822 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#2
Channel 13/14 used?
iw/iwconfig will tell you about available channels...
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 4,964 | Thanked: 14,886 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#3
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Channel 13/14 used?
Indeed. A good hint is if you have a SIM card in one unit but not in the other. The mobile network will tell the phone the location and that in turn will tell it whether channels 13 and 14 can be enabled.
__________________
In particle accelerators atoms are indeed not only touching each others. But banging together in a massive explosive orgasm.
-- nieldk in a TMO post
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
PMaff's Avatar
Posts: 361 | Thanked: 218 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#4
Originally Posted by pichlo View Post
Indeed. A good hint is if you have a SIM card in one unit but not in the other. The mobile network will tell the phone the location and that in turn will tell it whether channels 13 and 14 can be enabled.
But if it was a problem of channel 13 or 14 then the other N900 should not be able to connect either?
Since channel 14 is only usable in Japan afair,
channel 13 should not be a problem.
But I will try by changing the SIM card and setting channel 13 explicit.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to PMaff For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
wlan problem

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:11.