Reply
Thread Tools
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#1
Heres how you can make an html webpage that can run locally on your device which automatically refreshes itself and displays web based weather images of your choice.

No rocket science here just simple HTML but i'll save you the work of devising the code yourself.

Just create a file called WeatherImages.htm and put in the following html :
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<title>My Weather Image</title>

<!-- EDIT 1 :UPDATE THIS FROM 10 to something like 450 seconds (7.5mins) since most weather feeds update every 15 minutes -->
<meta http-equiv='Refresh' content='10'>

<style type="text/css">body { font-family:Arial; font-size:10pt; background-color: #0000A0; color: #FFFFFF} </style>
</head>
<body>

<!-- EDIT 2 : Plug in your own zipcode into this url string for simple image retrieval based on zipcode -->
Here is an example which you can substitute your zip code : <br><br>
<img src="http://www.adiabatic.weather.net/cgi-bin/regradar2.cgi?zipcode=23602&width=280&height=220">

<br><br>

<!-- EDIT 3 : If you have a favorite weather website with a static (consistent) image url, plug that in here -->
Here is a regular static image<br><br>
<img src="http://www.wavy10.com/images/radar.jpg">

<br><br>
</body></html>
There are three areas i identified as needing to be edited... one is refresh interval in seconds and the other two dependent on your zip code or favorite weather image.

To play nice with any websites you rip your image url's from you should probably not have a refresh lower than 240 (4 mins) or else your wasting their bandwidth.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by pipeline; 2007-08-22 at 01:51.
 
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#2
 
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#3
made a few modifications to fit the screen of the n800 a little better
Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
        <html> 
        <head> 
        <title>local weather image</title>
        
        <!-- EDIT 1 :UPDATE THIS FROM 10 to something like 450 seconds (7.5mins) since most weather feeds update every 15 minutes -->
        <meta http-equiv='Refresh' content='10'> 
        
        <style type="text/css">body { font-family:Arial; font-size:10pt; background-color: #000000; color: #FFFFFF} </style>
        </head>
        <body>
        
        <!-- EDIT 2 : Plug in your own zipcode into this url string for simple image retrieval based on zipcode 
        Here is an example which you can substitute your zip code : --><br>
        <center>
<img src="http://www.adiabatic.weather.net/cgi-bin/regradar2.cgi?zipcode=ZIP-CODE-HERE&width=635&height=300"></center>
        
        <br><br>
        
        <!-- EDIT 3 : If you have a favorite weather website with a static (consistent) image url, plug that in here 
        Here is a regular static image<br><br>
        <img src="http://www.wavy10.com/images/radar.jpg">-->
        
 
        </body></html>
I changed the url to read width=635&height=300 and commented out the static image and the some of the notes. Made the background black and centered the image
Thanks for the awsome script

Last edited by jay8378; 2007-08-22 at 15:08.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Aug 2007
#4
Waiting for my n800 to arrive today. I have been following these forums for the last month before deciding to buy the n800. Anyway, can the weather image be placed on the main screen? Sorry for the newbie question.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to kitzj0 For This Useful Post:
johsua's Avatar
Posts: 449 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Apr 2006 @ Eureka, CA
#5
I am getting this error on my regular computer from the adiabatic site:


Fatal error: Failed opening required 'pre.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/pear') in /home/fusion/sh_fiveday.php on line 4

any ideas?
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#6
your mods look nice jay.. its nice the site lets you pull back the image in custom res so
u can take advantage of the NIT's highres widescreen

kitzj0 : no i dont know of any progs to integate a refreshable web image into desktop

joshua : dunno perhaps it was just down at the time? I just tried it and its working for me

Last edited by pipeline; 2007-08-23 at 15:59.
 
johsua's Avatar
Posts: 449 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Apr 2006 @ Eureka, CA
#7
I think I know the problem. I am trying to access data for prague, so I tried going to their homepage,

http://www.adiabatic.weather.net

and there they have a way of accessing data. It must be broken. I guess I'll look for another site to put in its place, unless someone knows the link for central europe?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:40.