Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
ejasmudar's Avatar
Posts: 800 | Thanked: 957 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ India
#241
Originally Posted by blubbi View Post
You could have used diff to send me the changes ;-)
I am sorry, what is diff?
Also I have a few suggestions
1. Can you please make the contacts sort order selectable (eg, first name, last name or last name, first name, or nick name, etc). This is really bugging me now.
2. For a 2.0 release, can you make it such that, on loading, the app automatically logs in (in the back ground) and opens the compose page? This way, while the user is typing out the message and selecting the contact, the user will be logged in and further time wont be wasted and it will appear very fast! This can also help in prevent repeated logging-ins for sending multiple messages.

BTW, I just love that the sent messages appear in conversation! Brilliant touch! Also selecting the number for each contact is also a good feature.

Thanks for this highly useful app, bjoern!
 
blubbi's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 113 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Germany
#242
Originally Posted by ejasmudar View Post
I am sorry, what is diff?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diff
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_comparison
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...mparison_tools

Under *nix you would run the following on the original version (original) and your version (new) and send the resulting file my_changes.diff to me.

Code:
diff -u original new > my_changes.diff
and I would run the following to merge your changes:
Code:
 patch -p0 < my_changes.diff
(both files have to be in the same dir in this case)

Originally Posted by ejasmudar View Post
Also I have a few suggestions
1. Can you please make the contacts sort order selectable (eg, first name, last name or last name, first name, or nick name, etc). This is really bugging me now.
This is on my ToDo list and i have been asked before.
But getting the contacts in a sorted way is a big pain with Python on Maemo.

Originally Posted by ejasmudar View Post
2. For a 2.0 release, can you make it such that, on loading, the app automatically logs in (in the back ground) and opens the compose page? This way, while the user is typing out the message and selecting the contact, the user will be logged in and further time wont be wasted and it will appear very fast! This can also help in prevent repeated logging-ins for sending multiple messages.
I was considering this and i was asked before but condemn the idea.
But I might give it a shot for 2.0

By the way, patches (diffs) are alway welcome ;-)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to blubbi For This Useful Post:
plaban's Avatar
Posts: 395 | Thanked: 107 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ India
#243
Originally Posted by ejasmudar View Post
I am uploading a slightly modified version of the 160by2 provider. Changes include
-140 characters limit (only 80 for international, but not implemented yet)
-Removes leading 0 (Domestic) or 00 (international) if any
-Checks if number begins with 9,8,7 or 6 (requisite for Indian mobile numbers and intl' calling codes for supported countries)
-First goes to http://m.160by2.com/index.asp?in=yes instead of http://m.160by2.com so as to save time.

Please test and comment if there are any bugs in this. I have tried only international sms to Kuwait. But it was not working (not the app's problem. something wrong with their site). So please check others and let me know if it is successful.

PS: i can't upload py file here. Also txt file is too big to be uploaded here, apparently (huh?). So i have zipped it and uploaded it.
Now I can send 140 character sms.Thanks!
__________________
Nokia N900: It's a computer with a phone, not a phone that can compute.


Web Advices
Tablet Phone X
Blogging Tips
Know IP Address
 
ejasmudar's Avatar
Posts: 800 | Thanked: 957 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ India
#244
I have edited my www2sms.py to show contacts in first name last name order, but I think a better way would be if in the name selection combo box, if we can search both first name and last name simultaneously.

ie, if I search for 'St' I should get a result with both "Stephanopoulos, George" and "Jobs, Steve"

At present, it will only move the list to names starting with St, Is it possible to change that behaviour?
 
blubbi's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 113 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Germany
#245
Originally Posted by ejasmudar View Post
I have edited my www2sms.py to show contacts in first name last name order, but I think a better way would be if in the name selection combo box, if we can search both first name and last name simultaneously.

ie, if I search for 'St' I should get a result with both "Stephanopoulos, George" and "Jobs, Steve"

At present, it will only move the list to names starting with St, Is it possible to change that behaviour?
Well, we should add an checkbox in the configuration dialog to allow the user to either sort contacts by first or last name.

Furthermore I got some testing code (with help from #python) which I did not jet integrate into www2sms.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/python
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
from PyQt4.QtGui import *
from PyQt4.QtCore import *

#if you use the validator, transform strings to lowercase before comparing them, and the filterproxymodel can be turned case insenstive with one method call
#.setFilterCaseSensitivity(Qt.CaseInsensitive)
class ModelPresenceValidator(QValidator):
	def __init__(self, model, role=Qt.DisplayRole, column=0, parent=None):
		QValidator.__init__(self, parent)
		self.model = model
		self.column = column
		self.role = role
	def validate(self, text, pos):
		lastresort = (QValidator.Invalid, pos)
		for r in xrange(self.model.rowCount()):
			d = self.model.data(self.model.index(r, self.column), self.role).toString()
			print d
			if d == text:
				return (QValidator.Acceptable, pos)
			elif str(d).startswith(str(text)):
				lastresort = (QValidator.Intermediate, pos)
		return lastresort

a = QApplication([])

cb = QComboBox()
cb.addItems(['Albert', 'Alexis', 'Arthur', 'Jane', 'Joe', 'John'])

cb.setEditable(True) # so the user can type
filterproxy = QSortFilterProxyModel()
datmodel = cb.model()
filterproxy.setSourceModel(datmodel) # the filter applies to original data
datmodel.setParent(a) # segfault without this line
cb.setModel(filterproxy) # the combobox will display the filtered content
cb.lineEdit().textEdited.connect(filterproxy.setFilterWildcard) # connect the input to the filter
cb.setValidator(ModelPresenceValidator(datmodel))

cb.show()
a.exec_()
This code removes non matching contacts from the list but only matches the characters from the beginning of the line.
(Just execute the code on your Desktop)

You might want to play with it.

Cheers,
Bjoern
 

The Following User Says Thank You to blubbi For This Useful Post:
blubbi's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 113 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Germany
#246
Updated supported providers with "Tele2 Norway"
(Code was contributed by a user)

www2sms_providers 1.2.0 is vailable via the update-function by now.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to blubbi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 129 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#247
Hi there,

installed www2sms, with the hope of using 160by2. Though I know that u guys got it working, I am having problems updating the providers' website list file. It gives me an error when i try to update. "Failed to import GPG signature". How do we fix it? Or is there a way of how I should manually place this py file in the appropriate location?

Thanks, nAni
 
blubbi's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 113 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Germany
#248
I just tested the update system and it works like it should with www2sms 1.3.0

You can manually place the provider file in ${HOME}/MyDocs/www2sms/.
The file is a GPG signed TAR file.


Cheers,
Bjoern
 
ejasmudar's Avatar
Posts: 800 | Thanked: 957 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ India
#249
Hi Bjoern,

I've installed the CSSU, and noticed that www2sms is not usable in portrait mode. See http://wiki.maemo.org/Portrait_Mode#..._Compatibility.
Can we have a slightly rearranged UI in portrait mode?

Thanks,
Ejas
 
blubbi's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 113 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Germany
#250
Originally Posted by ejasmudar View Post
Hi Bjoern,

I've installed the CSSU, and noticed that www2sms is not usable in portrait mode. See http://wiki.maemo.org/Portrait_Mode#..._Compatibility.
Can we have a slightly rearranged UI in portrait mode?

Thanks,
Ejas
It is sure possible, but my schedule is overflowing. I currently have no time to pimp up www2sms for portrait mode.

Patches are welcome
 

The Following User Says Thank You to blubbi For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:33.