I still consider myself a newbie even though I've had my N8x0 for almost a year now...because I'm still learning all kinds of new things I can do with it. I love it.
I just installed Ubuntu on my PC and am learning to really love it also. Here is my newbie questions. What cool advantages do I have runny 2 different Linux versions. Are there common application I can run on both that sync? Or anything I can really get both working well together?

Posts: 243 | Thanked: 172 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ silicon valley
I don't know what application you want to sync, but if you run x11vnc on your tablet and a vnc viewer on ubuntu, you can control your tablet using the desktop. Works with windows too.

Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
Install openssh-server on your Ubuntu machine and sshfs on your tablet, and you can mount your Ubuntu drives on your tablet as if they are local! That's pretty cool. Even cooler, if you get a router that can do port forwarding, you can mount your Ubuntu machine's drives on your tablet anywhere you can get Internet. It is encrypted and secure, too!

Also, Ubuntu has a built-in Remote Control feature; it works with the tablet's VNC viewer, so you can control your desktop with your tablet; the opposite of what sarahn describes.

Last edited by qole; 2009-03-04 at 19:17.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 199 | Thanked: 264 times | Joined on May 2009 @ turku, finland
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Also, Ubuntu has a built-in Remote Control feature; it works with the tablet's VNC viewer, so you can control your desktop with your tablet; the opposite of what sarahn describes.