Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 333 | Thanked: 571 times | Joined on Aug 2014
#11
Originally Posted by mike727 View Post
I have Flashed with Australia firmware -> expected errors -> used Chinese firmware for CMT -> indicated successful.
Was N9 flashed with or without SIM in place?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to aspergerguy For This Useful Post:
mike727's Avatar
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 112 times | Joined on Aug 2015 @ Australia
#12
Originally Posted by aspergerguy View Post
Was N9 flashed with or without SIM in place?
Originally without SIM. Attempted another flash solely with Chinese firmware, with SIM (carelessly? Is that bad?).

Flashing only Chinese without SIM also failed.
Terminal output mentions "Security Failure"?
Or could Australia firmware (minus CMT) be considered upgrade & it refuses to go back to China (considered downgrade)?

Last edited by mike727; 2017-07-13 at 13:41.
 
Posts: 333 | Thanked: 571 times | Joined on Aug 2014
#13
Originally Posted by mike727 View Post
Edit: Just tried to flash with only the Chinese firmware, which failed (with SIM).
Trying to work out sequence of events here as from your pastebin output device was initially running Australian HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.299.1_PR_LEGACY_299_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin so when you tried DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958_ARM.bin it was disallowed as downgrade

You then forced Chinese CMT upon this version DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958_ARM.bin' --flash-only=cmt which was accepted

Perhaps going down a Legacy 005 route firmware might be accepted?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to aspergerguy For This Useful Post:
mike727's Avatar
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 112 times | Joined on Aug 2015 @ Australia
#14
Ouch, someone quick. If a Zerorize flash
flasher -f -F main.bin --erase-user-data=secure
.... fails, is it bricked?

Edit: Phone had 299 with '003 CMT'. I tried standard flashing 005 which failed, then Zerorize with 005 which also failed. https://pastebin.com/Lg1f3GkT

flasher -i works. Should I do cold flash?
I haven't disconnected or tried rebooting it.

Yesterday, originally (likely 003) the phone indicated 'Total Space' of ~64.06gb.
With 299 firmware, it indicated Total Space of ~6.38gb (no typo).

Edit2: When I try to flash, it outputs & stays at ">" & the "flashing bar".

Last edited by mike727; 2017-07-14 at 08:04.
 
mike727's Avatar
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 112 times | Joined on Aug 2015 @ Australia
#15
Zerorize flash failed (due to downgrade). Phone refuses to attempt flash (basic & Zerorize). The flasher does Identify the phone (bootloader good?).

Anything I should try?
Reboot?
 
Posts: 1,018 | Thanked: 3,311 times | Joined on Oct 2014
#16
Originally Posted by mike727 View Post
Zerorize flash failed (due to downgrade). Phone refuses to attempt flash (basic & Zerorize). The flasher does Identify the phone (bootloader good?).

Anything I should try?
Reboot?
You are trying to downgrade:

cmt 003 is Chinese variant once you have flashed chinense cmt, you cannot change it back to western version, 003 can only be updated with 003.

You can try to flash

DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958

(find it here https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=96401)

flasher -F 003version.bin --flash-only=cmt -f -R
__________________
You can still support my work by donation - click here

ETH: 0xf7544913017653719259c92d38d50d9d55f7c6cd
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nieldk For This Useful Post:
Posts: 333 | Thanked: 571 times | Joined on Aug 2014
#17
Thought he had tried previously with this:
HTML Code:
michael@michael-G41MT-ES2L ~ $ sudo flasher -f -F '/home/michael/Desktop/DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958_ARM.bin' --flash-only=cmt
flasher 3.12.1 (Oct  5 2011) Harmattan
WARNING: This tool is intended for professional use only. Using it may result
in permanently damaging your device or losing the warranty.
 
USB device found at bus 001, device address 006.
Device identifier: 351669050171237 (SN: N/A)
Raw data transfer EP found at EP2.
Ping attempt 1 (250 ms)
Server application: 1.7.2
Found product RM-696 rev. 1601
Server implements softupd protocol version 1.8
Image SW version DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_003
Image cert-sw skipped
Image xloader skipped
Image secondary skipped
Image kernel skipped
Image moslo skipped
Image rootfs skipped
Image mmc skipped
Image tar skipped
Image config skipped
 
Battery level 84 %, continuing.
 
    image        [state    progress         transfer     flash speed]
---------------------------------------------------------------------
[x] cmt-2nd      [finished   100 %      95 /      95 kB      NA     ]
[x] cmt-algo     [finished   100 %     789 /     789 kB      NA     ]
[x] cmt-mcusw    [finished   100 %    6050 /    6050 kB    3087 kB/s]
Success

Last edited by aspergerguy; 2017-07-14 at 12:41. Reason: Amendment
 

The Following User Says Thank You to aspergerguy For This Useful Post:
mike727's Avatar
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 112 times | Joined on Aug 2015 @ Australia
#18
Originally Posted by nieldk View Post
You are trying to downgrade:

cmt 003 is Chinese variant once you have flashed chinense cmt, you cannot change it back to western version, 003 can only be updated with 003.

You can try to flash

DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_003-OEM1-958

(find it here https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=96401)

flasher -F 003version.bin --flash-only=cmt -f -R
Thanks, feel relieved now that it's booted.
So it is now 299 & 003 (CMT).
IMEI is present.
It indicates total storage as 6.28 GB
Error message; "Can't access user data"
Application data is unavailable (it says "in mass storage mode"; while unplugged).

So, combination of 299 & 003 doesn't work?
Solely flashing 003 is not possible, since it's downgrade..
Should I try finding New Zealand firmware?
Can I only use 335, 341, 420 .....?

Edit: Phone is supposed to be 64 GB
Btw, some of those links to firmware are dead.

Last edited by mike727; 2017-07-14 at 13:14.
 
Posts: 333 | Thanked: 571 times | Joined on Aug 2014
#19
[QUOTE=mike727;1530655]Thanks, feel relieved now that it's booted.
So it is now 299 & 003 (CMT).
IMEI is present.
It indicates total storage as 6.28 GB
Error message; "Can't access user data"QUOTE]

You would need to cold flash to re-write partitions once you have identified a firmware version:http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...postcount=1512

There is no separate New Zealand firmware as 299 is country variant Australia and of course you have tried DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3_PR_LEGACY_005-OEM1-958_ARM.bin

As regards your highlighted firmwares, please note the following if helps to make an assessment:

059L6B8,335,N9 RM-696 Country Variant United Arab Emirates AE CLI8 Black 16G,7088057028,DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.335.1_PR_LEGACY_335_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin

059L7Z9,341,N9 RM-696 PTK Centertel (Orange PL) PL Black V2 - MR,7149480848,DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.341.2_PR_LEGACY_341_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin

059L449,420,N9 RM-696 Telcel MX MX Black V3,7146675574,DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.420.4_PR_LEGACY_420_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin

059N2D9,468,N9 RM-696 Country Variant United Arab Emirates AE N9 UAE White -,7087361817,DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.468.1_PR_LEGACY_468_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin

The following is last resort as highest number available with no going back.

059L5D4,480,N9 RM-696 Country Variant Switzerland CH Black 64GB V1,7099600534,DFL61_HARMATTAN_40.2012.21-3.480.04.1_PR_LEGACY_480_ARM_RM-696_PRD_signed.bin
 

The Following User Says Thank You to aspergerguy For This Useful Post:
mike727's Avatar
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 112 times | Joined on Aug 2015 @ Australia
#20
Thank you.

The phone is still the same after cold flashing 299 with 003(CMT).

Is there anything else I should try, besides upgrade?

Last edited by mike727; 2017-07-15 at 00:16.
 
Reply

Tags
flashing n9, sim card

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:12.