Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010
#1
So my n900's touchscreen has completely stopped working after a few weeks of working on and off, but before I send it away for repairs, I'd like to completely back it up since it will undoubtedly be wiped at Nokia/Optus.

However, as well as not having a working touchscreen, it also doesn't automatically connect to the internet when it's booted up, so all the SSH related solutions I've found are somewhat unhelpful in this situation...

If I can connect to a saved WiFi connection via terminal or keyboard shortcuts, I'm guessing I should be able to use SSH...

Does anyone know how I'd be able to back up everything? (Contacts, SMS, Applications and their settings, files, etc)

I'd also like to be able to export my contacts into something like an Excel spreadsheet so I can access certain numbers

I pretty much just want to be able to go back to the exact same phone when it comes back from repairs...

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Ncc Tardis; 2011-02-08 at 05:16.
 
Posts: 1,425 | Thanked: 983 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Hong Kong
#2
Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis View Post
So my n900's touchscreen has completely stopped working after a few weeks of working on and off, but before I send it away for repairs, I'd like to completely back it up since it will undoubtedly be wiped at Nokia/Optus.

However, as well as not having a working touchscreen, it also doesn't automatically connect to the internet when it's booted up, so all the SSH related solutions I've found are somewhat unhelpful in this situation...

If I can connect to a saved WiFi connection via terminal or keyboard shortcuts, I'm guessing I should be able to use SSH...

Does anyone know how I'd be able to back up everything? (Contacts, SMS, Applications and their settings, files, etc)

I'd also like to be able to export my contacts into something like an Excel spreadsheet so I can access certain numbers

I pretty much just want to be able to go back to the exact same phone when it comes back from repairs...

Thanks in advance!
How about backupmenu by Rob Simpson (aka RobbieThe1st here)?

To install without touchscreen, you may press CTRL-SHIFT-X at desktop. The Xterminal will be popped up, then type the following (hopefully you have rootsh installed)

Code:
root
apt-get install backupmenu
Then reboot the device with keyboard opened.

Actually I could tell you how to get SSH and VNC to control your N900 remotely in PC. Tell me if you'd prefer it. I'll show you.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to 9000 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010
#3
Yes please, I'm sure that'd make this a whole lot easier!

Will those terminal commands work without an internet connection?

Or do you know how I can establish an internet connection without the touchscreen?

Thanks for the quick reply!
 
Posts: 1,425 | Thanked: 983 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Hong Kong
#4
Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis View Post
Yes please, I'm sure that'd make this a whole lot easier!

Will those terminal commands work without an internet connection?

Or do you know how I can establish an internet connection without the touchscreen?

Thanks for the quick reply!
Oh you need to get Wifi works first? Here you go:

Code:
dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"IAP_ID" uint32:0
Replace the IAP_ID with the name you saved for your Wifi connection. If you've forgot what you've saved, you may use the following command to get the IAP_ID:

Code:
gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP | grep name
(or just gconftool -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP if you've problem typing "|" in xterminal)

If you need further help in getting SSH or VNC, let me know. Hope this helps.

Reference: http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#...ved_connection
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 9000 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010
#5
I've got SSH running, but I don't have VNC installed yet, if I could just get some help with that please?

I'm bout to head off to work, but I'll be trying all this as soon as I get home tonight, thanks again for your help!
 
Posts: 1,425 | Thanked: 983 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Hong Kong
#6
Originally Posted by Ncc Tardis View Post
I've got SSH running, but I don't have VNC installed yet, if I could just get some help with that please?

I'm bout to head off to work, but I'll be trying all this as soon as I get home tonight, thanks again for your help!
NP, I use VNC on daily basis so it's no sweat for me:

Code:
root
apt-get install x11vnc
x11vnc -speeds 10,60000,1 -cursor X -remap Return-KP_Enter -display :0
On the PC side you need the vncviewer. I'd recommend TightVNC, though I'm sure there's better alternative around.

You may download the vncviewer from the TightVNC official site here.

Run vncviewer with the IP of your N900.

Hope this helps.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 9000 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#7
As 9000 said, a good method of backup/restore is my Backupmenu application - And just about the only method of actually -restoring- a complete backup.
It also doesn't require touchscreen access, which is obviously a plus.
__________________
My projects: BackupMenu - OS Backup & restore | Video: Flashing your n900(LiveCD)
My devices: N770 + 8GB SD card soldered internally, N900 with 8GB SD card + Custom OC(125-950 typically).
OC freqs: 0:22,90 125:22,90 250:28,180 500:30,360 550:32,400 600:34,430 700:39,430 750:41,430 805:45,430 850:47,500 900:50,500 950:54,500 1000:58,500 1100:67,520 1150:71,520
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to RobbieThe1st For This Useful Post:
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010
#8
9000, I'm having issues connecting to the saved WiFi connection, I'm possibly getting the Saved network name incorrect, but I'm 90% sure I'm not.

That second command you gave is problematic because is rushes up the screen, so I'm only getting info on the last saved network, which isn't what I'm after.

Is there a way to slow this down?

Alternatively, is there a Terminal command to connect to a Wifi network directly? ie, entering the SSID?
 
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#9
Way to slow it down? Yea, pipe it through less - "*command* | less" - but the pipe character(|) probably needs the touchscreen to be used :\
__________________
My projects: BackupMenu - OS Backup & restore | Video: Flashing your n900(LiveCD)
My devices: N770 + 8GB SD card soldered internally, N900 with 8GB SD card + Custom OC(125-950 typically).
OC freqs: 0:22,90 125:22,90 250:28,180 500:30,360 550:32,400 600:34,430 700:39,430 750:41,430 805:45,430 850:47,500 900:50,500 950:54,500 1000:58,500 1100:67,520 1150:71,520
 

The Following User Says Thank You to RobbieThe1st For This Useful Post:
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010
#10
It looks like it does, its one of those characters that comes up when the BlueArrow/Ctrl shortcut is used... >.<

How about connecting to a hidden (non-broadcasted), unsecured WiFi network, ie, only needing to enter a SSID?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:37.