Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#1
I have a weird issue with my N900 I just bought ... it doesn't show any capital 'U' letter.
It's not a keyboard issue tho, even within the internal menus, the capital 'U' just doesn't show up.

So in menus I see things like 'pdating' instead of 'Updating', 'SA' instead of 'USA', 'nited Kingdom' instead of 'United Kingdom' or 'se' instead of 'Use'.
If I try to type a capital 'U' in say a txt, it displays a small 'u' instead.

Any idea what this could be?
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#2
small update ... capital 'U' works in terminal ... but it seems to be the only place where it works.
 
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009
#3
works fine on mine...
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#4
here some example pics ...
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/4107/dsc09661l.jpg (pdate on top right instead of Update)
http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/9623/dsc09658u.jpg (SA instead of USA, K instead of UK)

Last edited by SilverX; 2009-12-24 at 06:02.
 
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#5
Wow, that's really freaky! Have you tried to restore everything back to factory settings?
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#6
Originally Posted by SilverX View Post
here some example pics ...
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/4107/dsc09661l.jpg (pdate on top right instead of Update)
http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/9623/dsc09658u.jpg (SA instead of USA, K instead of UK)
Woah i agreee!!! That really is random! - i don't know how the fonts work on the device - i wonder if there is a font file that can be over-written maybe (A flash should work i think?!).

Don't know if droid fonts etc could cause that?
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#7
I didnt try to reflash the FW yet ... was gonna check first if anyone had any idea how I could solve it here on the forums.
The issue is really all across the UI ... even for example in the media player ... the song "Muse - Uprising" shows as "Muse - prising" in the music player or widget. And it only happens with the 'U', not with any other letter. It does not have to be the first letter of the word tho, "MUSE" would show up as "MSE". Small 'u' works just fine.

I didn't install droid fonts or anything like that. Didnt install anything from extras-devel or extras-testing either.

If noone comes up with a possible solution I'll reflash the FW ... I guess that would solve it. It's some software UI issue anyway ... the capital 'U' works fine in terminal.

Last edited by SilverX; 2009-12-25 at 02:54.
 
pycage's Avatar
Posts: 3,404 | Thanked: 4,473 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Germany
#8
Maybe the font file or font cache is broken? Reflashing ought to fix this.

EDIT: Terminal uses a different (monospaced) font, so it could really be that one system font that's broken on your's.
__________________
Tidings - RSS and Podcast aggregator for Jolla - https://github.com/pycage/tidings
Cargo Dock - file/cloud manager for Jolla - https://github.com/pycage/cargodock
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pycage For This Useful Post:
Posts: 147 | Thanked: 49 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#9
Originally Posted by pycage View Post
Maybe the font file or font cache is broken? Reflashing ought to fix this.

EDIT: Terminal uses a different (monospaced) font, so it could really be that one system font that's broken on your's.
What pycage said. Check your fonts.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#10
for the track record ... updating fennec to RC1 suddenly solved the problem. I don't know if the fennec beta caused it in the first place, but updating it to RC1 solved it. 'U' is back lol
 
Reply

Tags
letter u is a myth

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:02.