Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#21
This is how I did - but I'm sure there are better ways.

1) Learn how to edit files as root (explained elsewhere, most likely in wiki.maemo.org but also in countless threads here) and have an editor (you can install leafpad from repos).

2) open terminal, become root, edit your /usr/share/applications/hildon/nokia-maps.desktop file as follows:
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Name=mappe
#X-Text-Domain=nokia-maps-core
Exec=/opt/mybin/mappe.sh
Icon=general_map
X-Window-Icon=general_map
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
#X-Osso-Service=NokiaMaps
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
Terminal=false
#X-Maemo-Prestarted=none
#X-Maemo-Prestarted-Priority=1000
3) then create a directory for personal executable files
Code:
mkdir /opt/mybin
cd in that directory
Code:
cd /opt/mybin
and create the mappe.sh file, containing
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /home/user/MyDocs
/usr/bin/nokia-maps /usr/share/nokia-maps/html/index.html
exit 0
Should be enough
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 

The Following User Says Thank You to debernardis For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#22
Unfortunately that did not work on my n900.
When i erase the line "X-Osso-Service=NokiaMaps" from nokia-maps.desktop file, the map application does not run at all from desktop.
If i let it on the maps do not load.
 
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#23
Did you also remind changing the Exec line?
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#24
I did. I have checked the commands over a hundred times and i am sure that i wrote them correct. Thank you very much for your help, but it still doesn't work. At least i can load the maps from the terminal. If you can think anything else i could try please let me know.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 36 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Thessaloniki, Greece
#25
oh gosh, tnx debernardis!
I tried many things (editing files, copying maps over and over again, stripping binaries) but nothing.. and it never hit me to try to launch maps from the MyDocs folder. Indeed it works fine now (if launched from the terminal of course). I wonder what really caused the breakage in the first place.

Tnx again for the tip
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Finland
#26
Originally Posted by syd View Post
I have exactly the same problem.
I followed your instructions and i managed to load the maps starting nokia-maps from /MyDocs directory. However, as my experience in Linux is limited, i don't understand how to make it work from the menu.
Please be so kind to give more detailed instructions.
thanks
When following the excellent instructions from debernardis, remember also to add execute permissions to your own shell script, for example: chmod a+x /opt/mybin/mappe.sh
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ttseppal For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
offline, ovi maps


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:27.