Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Banned | Posts: 3,412 | Thanked: 1,043 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#21
Originally Posted by bman View Post
what version is out now? i only have v1 i think its not showing any updates for me but im sure others have a newer version
tethering my fone and using firefox on my computer is alot faster and its using the same same internet...
its not the speed of the net, its not optimized for the n900
As it has been already said on here that firefox is also slow on pc, this will also be the case on the 900 and the first factor is obviously the speed of which firefox can communicate with the web.

The latest version i believe is Firefox 4 beta5 released last month (february 2011), here is the link http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/mobile/

If you already have this version then i think is the latest one, if not give it a try.
 
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Netherlands
#22
There's another thread about the RC (which is newer than beta5 I believe), and that mentions a few about:config tweaks.
I tried the second, it seems to help, but it's hard to tell since Firefox 4 performance is a bit hit and miss in my experience.

These are the relevant posts:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...2&postcount=23
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...7&postcount=38
 
mase's Avatar
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 205 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Germany
#23
Originally Posted by maartenmk View Post
There's another thread about the RC (which is newer than beta5 I believe), and that mentions a few about:config tweaks.
I tried the second, it seems to help, but it's hard to tell since Firefox 4 performance is a bit hit and miss in my experience.

These are the relevant posts:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...2&postcount=23
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...7&postcount=38
The second one? You mean the cache option?
__________________
May the force be with us!
 
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Netherlands
#24
No the memory one. Actually by now I activated all of them.
They may contradict, I am not sure.

It seems to work fairly well now, but it is not as fast as Opera11.

Someone also suggested to switch off Sync, but that is one of the main reasons for me to keep trying FF4. (that and the fact that it has Flash, sort of)
 
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#25
Just my 2 Cents

Firefox runs too slow for me too. Opera runs a LOT better. I don't really see it as an issue on connectivity speed though ... Not since I changed my WIFI Power Management settings to "OFF". That doesn't really help with your bookmarking issue but you could try the WIFI Power Management setting.

Off-Topic, Kind of:

I saw a couple of posts in here about people wanting optimized versions of software for Maemo. I'm curious (and new to the N900), is there a site where people can request software, patches, etc...? I'm a developer and wouldn't mind helping with little things in my spare time. But it's hard to keep track of them all in the forums.

Last edited by kurtis; 2011-03-28 at 18:21. Reason: Grammar
 
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#26
Originally Posted by mase View Post
Hi!
I have installed Firefox on my N900, because I am able to sync
my bookmarks between my N900 and desktop with my own weave
server. That works pretty good.
But Firefox is extremely slow on the N900. It takes about 15s to start
and scrolling also stucks. It slows down the whole device. Am I the
only one with these problems with Firefox?
You want to put my user.js in /home/user/.mozilla/microb.

Edit: But there is an error:

Code:
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 210000);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 70000);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 70000);
user_pref("content.maxtextrun", 16834);
Attached Files
File Type: txt user.js.txt (1.5 KB, 135 views)

Last edited by epitaph; 2011-03-28 at 19:04.
 
Posts: 313 | Thanked: 246 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ USA
#27
Originally Posted by maartenmk View Post
There's another thread about the RC (which is newer than beta5 I believe), and that mentions a few about:config tweaks.
I tried the second, it seems to help, but it's hard to tell since Firefox 4 performance is a bit hit and miss in my experience.

These are the relevant posts:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...2&postcount=23
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...7&postcount=38
If you're talking about this setting: "browser.cache.memory.capacity" then this value is in KB. Default is 1024 KB (1 MB). A value of 1024000 equals to 1GB - total virtual memory possible on N900 . A value of 4092 or 8196 will make more sense.
 
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Netherlands
#28
yes, or in other words, give it everything you have. It doesn't make things worse as far as I can see, but to be honest i doubt it really helps. I'll switch it off again and try to notice a difference.
 
mase's Avatar
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 205 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Germany
#29
A value of 8192 seems to work well. I did not change the other values.
Flash and sync is enabled. Still problems with for example duckduckgo
and reichelt.de. But this seems to be an other problem.
__________________
May the force be with us!
 
Posts: 313 | Thanked: 246 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ USA
#30
Another tweak you can try is to set "dom.ipc.content.nice" to 0. Default is 10. A value of zero will not lower (nice) the background page loading priority but may cause increased CPU load. I noticed substantial improvement in page loading times with this tweak.
 
Reply

Tags
bada blows, bada rocks

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:42.